Day 27 - forwards and backwards - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2023

Day 27 - forwards and backwards

Simple stuff today - cycle the 78 km to Threeways, have a bite and find somewhere secure to leave my bike. I'd then hitch the 25 km south to Tennant Creek for supplies, hitch back and start heading north towards Darwin. I might add that there are no shops for a considerable distance to the north.

I looked at my shoes as I was about to put them on  - they're not much worse than when I left Canberra.

20,000 km and still looking good
Heart 4 Comment 0

The first part went well. I got to Threeways in four hours including time spent undoing the bogan vandalism of termite mounds.

Bogan vandalism at its finest. These people have no idea about the biology of termites and the importance of mounds. Unfortunately there are hundreds affected.
Heart 1 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltThe biological ignorance of the masses is incredible. Good on you for removing the trash from the mounds.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltGreat to hear from you again. I thought that I may have offended you with my last reply and I can assure you all was in jest. I had a vision of Bill making his python nicks!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Ian WallisNope. Not offended. I'm kinda hard to offend... I have stories... and nicknames, many of which are offensive enough that I will not use them.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltGood to have that sorted, Bill. I've enjoyed your comments.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 1
Graham SmithIan just when I was convinced that rescuing a snake was a unique occurrence for a cycle tour, you go and rescue millions of termites.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I had no means of taking the garbage. 

The signpost of my dreams
Heart 3 Comment 0

The plan fell apart when I tried to hitch to Tennant Creek. There was so little traffic and, among the paucity people, the majority with no spare seats. With little option I jumped on my bike and headed into the wind. What’s wrong with a 50 km shopping trip after a morning's 80 km?

I enjoyed the scenery heading towards this old gold mining town.

So many miners once worked in Tennant Creek that they had one of the world's largest soup kitchens
Heart 2 Comment 0

Unfortunately, the town was as I remembered- most depressing, with aboriginal disadvantage on show for all to see. A woman asked for money; I bought her groceries. I am riding a bicycle at an age that these people probably won't reach.

On the return journey, I had a good look at the old Telegraph Station. The buildings are gorgeous.

The living quarters
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Telegraph Station
Heart 4 Comment 0

And now, a particularly relevant poster. 

Cycling in those days - that's tough in a way I cannot imagine. There is one thing in common: the delight in food.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 118 km (73 miles)
Total: 3,237 km (2,010 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
John GrantPlaces like Tennant Creek make me despair at the society we've created . There's so much that needs to change (starting with attitudes). Bloody hell I hope this referendum gets up and the body created is able to be heard !
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn. Good on you. Couldn't agree more. Twenty years ago I was talking to med students in Darwin and I said that if I could sign a paper stating that there would be absolute equality in 50 years then I would jump on it. They were horrified!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago