Getting to Asia - Vietnam and Cambodia-- ride, etc - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2022

Getting to Asia

Intro- I will start with some birdwatching in Vietnam for four days. Next is easy (as I understand) biking and touring in Vietnam and Cambodia. Then more birding in Cambodia.

The journey did not go very well for me. Mostly minor problems, but several of them. I got boarding passes for all the flights, but when I went to board the first plane they had given my seat to someone else. I had to go back to the counter and get more passes. this was 5 hours to Vancouver. 

Flight two was the 14 hour trip to Hong Kong. I am not sure what was up with me, but I was very sick. My head and stomach were in revolt and I vomited. The plane left late as they were waiting for last minute passengers. This according to an email I just saw. There was also bad weather and we went around it which added some more time.

By the time we landed, it was too late to make my connection. The plane was due to leave very soon. We got in two hours late. I think about 50 passengers were delayed. There was another flight but it was 8 hours later.

I had arranged for a taxi from the airport but was unable to cancel it by the time I got my new ticket and everything. Anyway, I did not have any time really to visit Ho Chi Minh City.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0