Stelvioooooofff: Gomagoi to Valchava - Around the Alps - CycleBlaze

September 5, 2022

Stelvioooooofff: Gomagoi to Valchava

The good news: today was going to be a super-short one -- not even 40km!  The bad news: there was a certain amount of uphill on the horizon.: 48 hairpins' worth, to be precise.  In fact, the reason I'd planned such a short day was so that, if the worst came to the worst, I could probably  push most of the way to the top and still make it to my destination before nightfall.

I fuelled up at the very good breakfast (most of the other people staying seemed to be walkers or climbers, also very focussed on Carb Loading...), released my bike from the hotel owner's garage (resisting the temptation to upgrade to their temptingly-unlocked ebike...), and pointed it uphill.

One down, forty-seven to go...
Heart 4 Comment 0

The weather was fine -- cooler, but sunny -- and the road was much quieter this morning: there were still a fair few cars and motorbikes, but they were mostly quite patient.  (If I'd planned this better, though, I should have come this way two days ago, which -- left-over signs revealed -- was the bike-only day...). 

And the road?  It was, in its way, a lot of fun.  Hairpin after hairpin after hairpin, but with great, and always changing, views.

Nice View -- yep!
Heart 5 Comment 0
As is this.
Heart 10 Comment 0
No. 32. (The upper-30s hairpins were particularly painful, from memory...)
Heart 9 Comment 0

There were lots of other cyclists out: mostly roadies, and of course all going significantly quicker than me, but often offering some cheerful encouragement as they went by.

No. 28 (or thereabouts). Obviously I would have caught up with these guys if I hadn't stopped for a photo...
Heart 8 Comment 4
Rachael AndersonIt also would help if you weren’t carrying anything! We wanted to do this on our last tour but not with bags but the weather turned bad and we had an excuse.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowTo Rachael AndersonI don't go very much quicker without bags, to be honest! But in any case: I'd say to go for it, if you're in the area again and the sun's shining -- although it's long (very long!), it never gets crazy steep: a walk in the park, compared to some of those welsh gradients...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Polly LowWhen I climb I go very, very slow but I keep going as long as I can because it’s very hard for me to start up again if there is very much grade at all so I usually end up walking until I can get on again! Unfortunately, I’m not as strong as I use to be and my breathing issues make it worse. You’re definitely right that the gradients in Wales and other parts of Great Britain are much worse! You are amazing and I love your writing!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mark BinghamWhat a great picture! (and the several following it) It's always difficult showing how steep a grade is, but you succeeded. I'm enjoying this trip as much as your last one!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After a couple of hours of grinding away, the top came into view.  Still quite a long way up, though...

Nearly there?
Heart 8 Comment 2
Keith AdamsI look at that and immediately think "Oh. Another two to three hours, at least." (For me, anyhow- you probably had it done in 30 more minutes.)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Looking back.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Almost vertigo-inducing...
Heart 7 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAlmost??? VERY!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mark BinghamYou look very high, Low. :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Then, at last, the hairpin numbers were into single figures -- and then: the top!

I think they need a new summit sign.
Heart 7 Comment 0
This'll have to do...
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonCongratulations!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsWell done, indeed!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The real Genius Part of my 'cycle extremely slowly up the Stelvio' plan was that I'd arrived bang on time for lunch.  Slightly to my surprise, the cafe at the top produced something which was very tasty, and not insanely overpriced, so I didn't have to raid my vending machine snack stash (though perhaps it would have been slightly more sensible not to haul it over the mountain...).

After a leisurely lunch, I spent a bit of time browsing the dizzying range of souvenir stands, one of which kindly offered to post a postcard for me (since I wouldn't pass a postbox before crossing the border...), put on almost every item of clothing I possessed, and set off down the other side. After about 500m I stopped to put on all my remaining items of clothing, and got going again: the clouds had rolled in while I was eating, and it was really quite chilly.

Most of the other cyclists turned left after the pass, to head to Bormio, but I turned right, for a very slight climb to the Umbrailpass, and then into Switzerland.

Impressive (but deserted!) customs post at the Italian/Swiss border on the Umbrailpass.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Twisting down the Umbrailpass, looking back up to the Stelvio.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonOne pass wasn’t enough?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowTo Rachael AndersonThe perk of coming via the Stelvio is that the climb to the Umbrailpass is only about 25 metres: two for the price of one!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

This wasn't my favourite descent, really: the hairpins were tight and steep, and my brakes -- which hadn't been completely happy since their soaking on the first day -- were making increasingly agonised noises. So I crept my way back down to the valley floor, happy to make it in one piece.

Today's objective -- still quite a long way down...
Heart 4 Comment 0

From there it was an easy ride along the valley to the little village of Valchava: again, chosen fairly at random by virtue of being in a convenient place, but it turned out to be a really nice spot. The hotel ('Central') was great too: extremely welcoming (even by the high standards of this trip), very bike friendly (they even had some cleaning equipment, so I could at last scrape off some of the residual Tauernradweg Gunge), and serving up some delicious food (including 'organic wild boar' -- I'm not sure how that works, but it tasted good...). 

Bus-stop Alpine Horn Concert: a lovely end to a memorable day.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 564 km (350 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rich FrasierThe Stelvio on a loaded touring bike!! You are amazing! Congratulations on a huge accomplishment.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowThank you! (Though I do think that getting down was more stressful than getting up...)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesWhat a great ride. Fantastic photos too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago