Back to the Flatlands: Arnhem to Utrecht to IJmuiden - Around the Alps - CycleBlaze

September 11, 2022 to September 12, 2022

Back to the Flatlands: Arnhem to Utrecht to IJmuiden

For the second time on this trip, I woke up on a train to find myself not quite as close to my destination as I should have been; this meant -- again -- that I'd miss my planned onwards connection.  This turned out to be moot, though, since a message from DB revealed that the fast train towards the Netherlands which I was aiming to catch in Hannover had been cancelled anyway.  Not a disaster: an assortment of local trains would take me westwards, and none of them needed a bike reservation; so the only challenge (for my German...) was explaining to a sequence of baffled ticket collectors why I was trying to get to the Netherlands on their very much not-going-to-the-Netherlands train.  I'm not sure if any of them really understood, but none of them kicked me off (or made me buy a new ticket), so I counted that as a win.

By shortly before noon I was over the border (witnessing the strange sight of an almost instantaneous shift from nearly 100% mask-wearing to nearly 100% mask-non-wearing...), and by lunchtime I was in Arnhem.  This seemed like a good place to escape from the railway: slightly easier said than done, because Dutch rail ticket gates don't recognise e-tickets issued by any other rail company, nor do they have any staff on duty to help people who are trapped by the barriers.  (The solution -- in case anyone else finds themselves in this predicament -- is to tailgate...).

Getting out of the station was almost the hardest bit of the next two half-days' riding.  To be fair, this eastern edge of the Netherlands wasn't entirely flat; but it was quite a lot flatter than the terrain I'd left behind.

A hill! In the Netherlands! Quite unreasonable.
Heart 7 Comment 0
This is more like it...
Heart 9 Comment 0
I'm a big fan of Slightly Sinister Hay Bale Art.
Heart 4 Comment 0

A very pleasant afternoon's cycling got me as far as Utrecht, where I stopped for the night.  Utrecht is one of my favourite cities -- though also heaving with students: a foretaste of what was waiting for me back home.  Perhaps it was good to start to re-acclimatise, though.

The chance to stock up on Bitterballen wasn't the *only* reason I decided to come home this way, but....
Heart 4 Comment 0

The next morning brought even easier riding: the land now really was properly flat, and (now that I'd turned north) I also had the wind behind me.  So I made very good time through the polders and along the canals.

Just to prove I was really in the Netherlands.
Heart 6 Comment 0
These sheep are supposed to be mowing the cycle-path verges, but some of them seem to be embracing that 'Quiet Quitting' trend.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith AdamsNah, they're probably just typical municipal infrastructure maintenance employees.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I might never eat chips again.
Heart 4 Comment 0

By shortly after noon I was in Spaarndam, where I stopped for an early lunch at a cafe I'd earmarked as a good-seeming spot when riding in the other direction a couple of weeks ago.  Two Weeks Ago Me turned out to be quite right: the place (the Cafe De Toerist: recommended!) served up an excellent Uitsmijter, and an equally good slice of apple cake, and generally provided a fine conclusion to my brief Dutch interlude.

Or rather, not quite conclusion: there were still 10km to go to the port; but these passed very easily. This time, I was waved straight onto the boat ('all of this area is for you!', said the cheerful deck-hand, waving at a platform at the back of the car-deck), where I tied up the bike and went off to enjoy my last night of holiday.

Nearly home...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAnd they say the Netherlands are flat. You must've gained nearly 30 meters (oh, sorry, 'metres') over the course of that ride. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowI know: exhausting stuff!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 139 km (86 miles)
Total: 1,049 km (651 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0