Apple World: Bolzano to Gomagoi - Around the Alps - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2022

Apple World: Bolzano to Gomagoi

There was a price to be paid for all that downhill yesterday: namely, a whole day of uphill today.  But it was mostly fairly gentle uphill, at least, and once more on great paths, through lovely landscapes.

I wrenched myself away from my (very good) hotel -- I think I'd accidentally booked myself into a much glitzier (though no more expensive) place than my usual fare, visible not only in the really excellent breakfast (pancakes!  prosecco! [I had the former, passed on the latter...]) but also in the spiffiness of the room.

Perhaps a good job that I only noticed the 'pillow menu' in the morning or I might have been tempted to order up all six, princess-and-the-pea style...
Heart 5 Comment 2
Scott AndersonDo you remember the name of this place? I wonder if we didn’t stay here also. I only remember seeing a pillow menu once, and this looks familiar. Maybe if you’ve seen one pillow menu you’ve seen them all though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowIt was the Parkhotel Laurin (also distinguished by having a very flash bike-room).

I like the idea of a comparative study of Pillow Menus, though. One for the list, once the Beer Project’s wrapped up?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It was a beautiful morning, and I joined the flow of elegantly-clad, immaculately-equipped Italian mamils on the path out of Bolzano.  They were mostly cheerful enough as they whizzed by, though, even if I did get the feeling I was lowering the tone a little bit on my increasingly squeaky old tourer.

Leaving Bolzano: the way ahead.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Leaving Bolzano: looking back
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'd earmarked Merano as a good place for a coffee stop, inspired by others' accounts of the beautiful old town.  Somehow, though, my route managed to bypass the nice bits of the city entirely, focussing instead on parts which were more reminiscent of the outskirts of Stockport (if you don't know what this entails, consider yourself lucky...). I did find a cafe, though, and with it the energy to keep going.

Spotted in Merano. Any of you tandemmers fancy an extra challenge?
Heart 4 Comment 2
Mike AylingI don't like heights!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsNah, the rear tire's flat.

But I can envision it in use by a team of Italian acrobats, pulling crazy stunts (as if riding the dang thing to begin with doesn't count as a "crazy stunt") in a parade.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The caffeine boost was useful for getting me over the climb out of Merano, after which the route reverted to its gentle progress along the river, and through the apple orchards: really, really nice riding.

I like that they number the hairpins, even on the cycle path.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Perk of climbing a hill: views! (Though I'm not quite sure what the frame is supposed to be framing, tbh...)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Castles & apples: a good combination.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The rest of the day continued in the same vein: occasional lumps (and the odd bit of gravel), but mostly just steady progress through the orchards and along the river.

Apple juice rehydration pit-stop.
Heart 4 Comment 0

As I'd been cycling, it had dawned on me that perhaps I should check that the place I was staying tonight would be able to feed me (I've been nervous about this ever since pitching up after an extremely long ride at a middle-of-nowhere hotel in France earlier this year, only to be told that no, they weren't serving food, and no, nowhere else in the village was either...).  Their website was a bit alarming: it talked only of multi-course gastronomic tasting menus, and was festooned with Stern Instructions about the necessity of pre-booking (which I hadn't done).  The other place in the village also looked a bit fancy.  All of which is why I found myself raiding the vending machine at the petrol station in Prato allo Stelvio (this being a Sunday afternoon, and all shops firmly closed), assembling a variety of unhealthy snacks which I hoped could see me through to breakfast tomorrow if necessary.

That done, and panniers stuffed to bursting, I set off on the last leg of the day, which was also the first few kilometres of the climb to the Stelvio pass. After the gentle riding of the last few days, this was a bit of a rude awakening: it was steep, and hot (though a kindly racer paused briefly as he sped by to reassure me that 'it gets cooler higher up!'), and there was a bit too much traffic for comfort.

The Stelvio is open. Good news, I guess...?
Heart 5 Comment 0

A good thing, then, that I wasn't going very far up the pass today: just as far as the tiny village of Gomagoi, where I toppled into my hotel.  The lovely woman running the show declared me 'crazy!', reassured me that (of course!) there'd be no problem having dinner with them (they had a less-gastronomic -- though still very good -- bar menu for residents), and directed me up to a perfect room, from which I could enjoy great views back down the valley (better not to look up...), as what seemed like hundreds of swifts darted in and out of the eaves: a really magical end to the day.

View from my balcony. Don't look up!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 91 km (57 miles)
Total: 528 km (328 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonSpectacular photos! I understand your concern about food, I would have stocked up also but I’m glad they had food.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago