Reducing my load - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

Reducing my load

I realized that the broken spokes was due to being overload. So I started Friday morning by discarding a lot of stuff: My airbed, which had a slow puncture. My tent. My backpack, which was very old and had a tear. My old sneakers and my crocs. Frankfurt is very strict on the disposal of garbage, but the caretaker at the campsite said he will handle it.

Then I packed up and rode to Action and bought an airbed for E7. Then I rode to Hellweg, but this branch did not have any tents.

Then I went to Decathlon, but they did not have any one man tents. But they did have cheap cycling shorts and bicycle tubes. So I bought a pair of each. The checkout till was completely unmanned: you scan the items yourself, put them on a scale and, if the weight matches the computer records, you pay by card.

These shops were far apart, but on the way to Mainz. In Mainz, I stopped at another camping store, but, again no one man tents. Eventually I found one for E25 at Toom building supplies, South west of Mainz.

Then I looked on the map for campsites and was disappointed: I didn't want to go back to any of sites on the Rhine because it would take me in the wrong direction.

So I cycled another 28km to one in the Winelands. That made my total for the day 92 km, much of it with a headwind.

Today's ride: 92 km (57 miles)
Total: 957 km (594 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0