Paris - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

September 24, 2017 to September 30, 2017

Paris

I slept the first night in a hostel. But it was noisy, there was too much light and it was expensive.

Fortunately the night were warm enough for camping. And there was a  site near the Eiffel Tower. So I did that instead.

Apart from the usual attractions, I also went to Lafayette galleries. It's a big mall in the center of the city. There's a set of escalators that takes you all the way to the roof for free. From the you can see over the roof tops of the other buildings all the way to the Arch De Triumph.

Now Paris has these high tech toilets with lights that indicating when they are free, occupied or out of service. Although they are free, I have given up on them because the working ones have queues at them.

One afternoon, I was near Notre Dame Cathedral, when I had the urge to pee. So I headed for their facilities. There was a man collecting the money and directing the guests where to go. He took one euro from the man in front of me and told him to pee in the uranal. But that was not wat the man wanted and the transaction was reversed. And the woman in front of me didn't have a euro, so he told her not to come it. I was relieved that I had a euro and wanted to pee.

Mont matre from museum Orsay
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Eiffel Tower towards the campground
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from Lafayette galleries.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from Mont Matre
Heart 0 Comment 0
How romantic
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some bones in the catacombs are nicely arranged, but most are just randomly piled up from floor to ceiling
Heart 0 Comment 0
A replica of the Statue of Liberty donated by the USA to France.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 198 km (123 miles)
Total: 1,955 km (1,214 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0