Bar-Le-Duc - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2017

Bar-Le-Duc

I headed through the Lorraine regional natural park, because the roads are quieter.

I used Google maps to plan the route, because it avoids hilly terrain. But it turned out to have a few flaws. Near the start, it sent me up a steep foot path. My gear was to heavy, so I choose a forest road instead.

But the most serious flaw was that some of the roads were across private land and the owners barricaded it. So I got OsmAnd to generate a detour. Some of it was muddy jeep track, but at least I got through.

Once I was back on tar, I decided to stick to paved roads, even if they are much longer.

There is an extensive system of irrigation canals in the area. With all the rain, parts of the system is flooded.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 112 km (70 miles)
Total: 1,430 km (888 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0