Arriving in Amsterdam - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2017

Arriving in Amsterdam

Luckily everything went smoothly. There were porters at OR Tambo airport that wrapped the bicycle box and my bag in plastic for free!

Egypt Air accepted the box in accordance with they website.

I arrived at Schiphol on schedule and within a few minutes got my back pack. Then I got my tools out as I waited for my bicycle at the oversize luggage collection point. After a few more minutes, I discovered that there was a second collection point and my bicycle was there.

I assembled my bicycle without issue at the famous Amsterdam sign.

Then I started the trip. I had to be careful because my load has a high center of gravity.

But I still arrived exactly at my host at the time I indicated to him some weeks before. I am the first 'vrienden op die fiets' to stay with Jos. He is very kind and cooked for us.

My current load configuration. The bags are approximately 60 cm wide and weight approximately 15 kg
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bicycle in it's box as it's being loaded in Cairo
Heart 0 Comment 0
This walkway at Schiphol has something very appropriate written on it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A beautiful bridge I had to cross.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 km (9 miles)
Total: 14 km (9 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0