The Deception and the Sting - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2018

The Deception and the Sting

Camano Island to Fort Hadlock

Tim and Michele fed me mass quantities of food and treated me to an Idris Elba movie (Molly’s Game) last night.

This morning I loaded up on carbs and said my good-byes. I really didn’t want to leave but they’d never get rid of me if I didn’t cut the cord today.

Heart 0 Comment 0

If you think I look like I lost weight, you are wrong. The compression sleeve on my leg is so tight that I grew four inches.

The ride out of Camano Island was much easier than the ride in. I ignored The Google and took the main road all the way. There were no impossibly steep hills.

I reversed course from yesterday riding north to Fidalgo Island and turning south, away from Anacortes.

It was a hilly and trafficy road. My body was not having fun. Then I came to Deception Pass and I remembered why I like this bike touring stuff so much.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The bridge connects Fidalgo and Whidbey Islands. The views from the bridge deck were amazing. Fortunately, for me the winds were calm.

After the pass I followed my maps which took me away from the main road. This is not a very good deal for the weary. The back roads are hilly and offer nice views. The main highway has more gradual slopes without the pretty visuals.

Whidbey Island is home to a naval air station. The Mule challenged some jets to a race. They wouldn’t play with him.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After riding around the base and down to the beach and up from the beach, The Mule and I finally came to Coupeville where I stopped for a late lunch (2 pm).

A few miles after that we reached the ferry terminal. I had only a short wait before my trip.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trip took about 30 minutes. Passengers looked for interesting sea life but only saw a couple of seals. (I really wanted to see an Orca.)

A few minutes after leaving the ferry terminal in Port Townsend, a black wasp tried to fly into my mouth. I spit it out with a raspberry. Before he left, he stung me on the lower lip.

Ow!!!!!

After about 30 minutes my lip calmed down. I felt like I had had a shot of novacaine. An hour later my lower front teeth ached.

I rode to Fort Hadlock and checked into a motel. I planned to treat my sore, swollen lip with cold alcohol.

When I checked into the motel I told the clerk that my last name was like Pickett in Pickett’s charge. She said she didn’t know what that was because she had been in a polygamist cult.

Hokay.

I miscalculated my planned mileage for today. It was supposed to be 72 miles but ended up being 81.

Tour Miles: 3,877

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 3,893 miles (6,265 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0