Fire and Rain - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2018

Fire and Rain

I chose Any Road to the PNW as the name of my bike tour but it’s beginning to look like I may have to change it to Fire and Rain (hell, add Wind because the Great Plains are not exactly a light breeze).

Up until today, I have been focused on road closures in Idaho and Oregon. These closures are the result of fires from last summer. In the last several days, the mid-Atlantic has been hit with a rain event that will continue through the weekend. 

The rain is washing out sections of the C&O Canal towpath, the unpaved, flat route through the Appalachians. My friend Rudi has given me a workaround that will allow me to bypass more than one-half of the towpath. There will be some serious hills in the bargain.

There is no word about the western third of the towpath as well as the GAP trail from Cumberland to Pittsburgh.

Gee, I can’t wait to get started!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0