Diversity on the trails - Biking while Black: Riding the C&O and GAP Trail - CycleBlaze

Diversity on the trails

Outside of the beautiful scenery, one of the main things I noticed and acknowledge about this trip is the overwhelming lack diversity I observed along the trail. 

It surprised me that for over 330 miles of cycling between Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA, I never once saw a black person on a bike. Interestingly enough, I only saw 1 cyclist throughout the entire trip who was not white; an Asian man at the Indigo Neck Hiker campsite(MM 139.5) on day 2 of the C&O canal, just outside of Little Orleans, MD. To be able to so specifically detail the only moment I encountered a non-white cyclist in 5 days of riding clearly points to a lack of cultural participation out on the trails. Even more surprisingly, for the duration of the trip, I only saw a handful of non-white people on the trail in any capacity at all for the full 5 days.

This is simply an observation, but it is something I certainly can't ignore. There are countless reasons for this including cost as a barrier to entry, lack of cultural representation and location/accessibility to trails, but I'd truly love to see this change over time.

Being outside amongst beautiful scenery and enjoying nature should not be a restricted pleasure, but a freedom everyone has the opportunity to enjoy as I much as I have, and hope to continue. 

One thing I can do right now is continue to ride and help create visibility for others who look like me, and that's where I'll start.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonGreat journal, Anthony. Thanks for sharing your experience. And your observation fits our own - outside of cities we encounter very few non-white cyclists. Well, and not all that many younger bike tourists either, as far as that goes. It’s uplifting to see you out there.

Congrats to both of you on a successful first tour together! I’ll look forward to the next installment.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen JonesThanks for posting, Anthony and glad you two had such a great trip. And thanks for being frank about your experiences of biking while Black. People need to know.

I look forward to more of your rides. Chapeau!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonI really enjoyed your journal and hope you continue to bicycle tour and maintain a journal on cycleblaze. Scott and I have seen more black cyclists on the West cost and in Europe. I sure hope that we can see more in the rest of the USA. I admire you both for what you’re doing!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mary LermanCongratulations! I too am glad you are touring while black and hope to see a lot more diversity on the trails.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Andrea BrownYou two are carrying the least amount of stuff on your bikes than I've ever seen for a multi-day tour. Is there anything you wish you had brought along that you didn't have with you? I'm pretty much in awe of that because we tend to carry a lot, I mean, I carry more on a ten-mile jaunt around town than you did for five days, ha.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
Well done! And I agree with Andrea. I mean, just a back pack for five days? Zounds , folks. That’s travelling light! At a minimum, I would get the load off my back and onto a frame rack. If you want advice, just ask on the forum, and you’ll get a head full.
And I admire your courage to face the lack of diversity outside the big cities of America. The pigeonholing of people by color, class, or religion is the most despicable aspect of humanity. Good on you for pushing past it.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauHi Anthony,

You provided everything I look for in a journal, which basically boils down to just three things: a sense of fun, a few exciting twists & turns, and a breezy, unpretentious narrative.

I'm guessing there will be more bike tours in your future. Every one of them will be memorable in their own way, but I think the excitement of the first one--like a first kiss--can never quite be repeated. True, there is something to be said for learning from experience. On the other hand, experience sometimes subtracts from the novelty. On the third hand, bike touring experience is how I learned that bike touring experience subtracts from the novelty. (So much for being unpretentious.)

Anyway, as I said, nice journal.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingG'day Anthony and Alison

Well done you two and a great journal. I am sad about some of your experiences but think that if there were more Black cycle tourists they would just be seen as cyclists and a source of tourist dollars. I live in Australia and we have a shocking record in regard to our treatment of our First Nations people and we still have a few red necks of our own.
Re travelling light, Mary and I work on the basis that we only tour for a week at a time and only stay in a place one night at a time so one set of off bike clothes is plenty as nobody is going to see us twice wearing the same outfit so good to see you doing the same. As others have written those backpacks can get uncomfortable. With your loads you don't really need racks and panniers but have a look at some bikepacking frame bags.
Looking forward to your next journal.

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago