Schnackenburg - From the North Sea to the Adriatic - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2010

Schnackenburg

We nearly camped tonight but had to wait for an hour for reception to open so decided to ride on. We are therefore in the Haffencafe Felicitas in Schnackenburg. After I had exhausted my very limited German I found the young man running the place spoke excellent English. He said that his wife was from Peru so he had to learn English so they could talk to each other. Don't quite know how that works as I thought it was Spanish they spoke in Peru, This is a humming place with lots of cyclists dropping in foe eis, coffee and various other goodies. Our room has two huge framed cross stitch pictures I know my sewing friends would be very impressed the amount of time they must have taken is staggering.

The ride today was very pleasant. We were without the rain of yesterday and the strong wind was largely behind us. The first little town we came to was Hitzacker with the usual charm of these little places and a bike shop. My gears have been causing me some problems and the chain keeps coming off so we called in. The slightly grumpy bike mechanic gave them a through going over. They went like a dream for all of 300 meters then I came to a grinding halt. A bungy had flicked off wrapped itself around the back cluster of gears and it was impossible to free it. Mr Bean is travelling with us. With considerable embarrassment back we went to the bike shop. The mechanic assured us it happens all the time and set about to fix it. I was worried I would be back to see him with another idiotic problem but no the bike purred along for the rest of the day

Ken has just come in in great excitement there is a concert tonight in St Nikolai Kirche. It seems to be firstly Schumann, Chopin and Beethoven then some well known vocal works of Bach, Mosart Schubert and Frank. We will have an early meal then be along to it.

It was lucky my bungy got caught up in my gears or Ken would never have seen a wonderful line up of tractors
Heart 0 Comment 0
We have hardly had a glass of wine yet but a beer at the end of the day is fantastic
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 km (56 miles)
Total: 583 km (362 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0