Belgern - From the North Sea to the Adriatic - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2010

Belgern

Once more one of those amazing German breakfasts. A buffet with everything you ca imagine cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices. Every type of cold meat you can imagine, cheeses, eggs, salad vegetables, fresh bead and rolls, a huge pot of coffee and today my favourite smoked salmon. It is really hard to do justice to them and I am concerned I might swell up. Dinners are similarly huge and I am seldom able to eat all of mine. I feel worried that there will be a serious reduction in the pig population by the time we leave because of the amount of Schweinefleisch we are eating.

The hotel in Wittenburg was good partly because when I tried to explain to the man that I spoke almost no German he said he spoke no English but did I speak French. It was strange how comfortable and easy it seemed talking in French. I did enjoy it and it made me realize how very at home I feel in France with all aspects of its culture.

Our optimism about the weather lasted about all of ten minutes then back on were the rain coats and the stayed on all day. The two major events of the day the first being that we passed the thousand kilometer mark which for us in twelve days of cycling is not too bad. The other was that we had our first puncture. We found a sheltered spot and got to work only to find we had left the pucture repair kit behind . Oh dear but we had two spare tubes and spoons acted as tyre levers so we were soon underway. It means however that we will have to delay our start a little today till the bike shop opens to get a kit, we will probably get him to clean out our gears too as they are very dirty with all the muck and water we have been riding through.

Our first puncture
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Rathaus in Belgern
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 92 km (57 miles)
Total: 1,017 km (632 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0