Day 9: Finally, Arches NP things - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2013

Day 9: Finally, Arches NP things

Heart 0 Comment 0

After I set up, the first thing I did was set off on a hike. The Trucker and I rode off the the trail head and off we went. Except The Trucker is not allowed on trails, so she had to stay put, locked up at the bike rack.

I'll let the pictures do the talking, re the hike....

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part of the trail...going up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

h

Thats me, on top of the world, so to speak.
Heart 0 Comment 0



The wind had picked up while I was hiking, which I didn't think anything of, until I got back to my tent and found everything inside covered in sand! GRRR.

Inside my tent. A little sand never hurt anyone. Right?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not knowing what to do next, I found a shady place to have lunch. After that I saw the lady half of the camp host team and told her what happened.

"The wind is really bad," she said. "A lot of people are packing up and leaving."

"What?" I said. "I don't mind the wind, my tent is fine as far as falling over (some people were not so lucky), but site 49 is basically a sand dune."

"Hmmm?" She said, looking around. "So many people have left. Why don't you take that site," she said while pointing to the one next to theirs.

It was a good idea, it was more gravel than sand.

"We can help you move," she added. "We have the golf cart."

How nice is that! So I packed up and she and her husband came by and helped me move all my stuff next to them. They even found me a spare camp chair.

Sand was still flying with the same intensity, but less was coming into my tent now. So many people left that one camper went to the host to ask if there was an evacuation going on, because of a fire or something. Even the people in campers had sand all over, but not nearly as bad.

Those of us who stayed decided that it's just sand. What the hell? In the end we were rewarded. At dusk the weather began to calm and it was beautiful.

I don't know what happened, because the weather forecast (the ranger came around so people could listen) called for the winds to persist through the night. So maybe the gods were smiling. But what does it matter? It was an eventful day that ended well.

Tomorrow, I ride out...

But the evening was beautiful. Such nice colors!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 416 miles (669 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0