Day 37: - Meetings On The Road - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2013

Day 37: - Meetings On The Road

I had a leisurely start today. And why shouldn't I, with my fancy shmancy room? It was warm and dry, unlike outside, and I made a mug of coffee and watched the seagulls on the beach from my hotel window.

But alas, all good things must come to an end and my $60 hotel was no exception.

Once on the road the day could be summed up in three, I mean, four words--Meetings On The Road. This route oozes touring cyclists. By that I mean, there are a lot of them.

And it's a good thing too because the day wasn't good for photos. So I concentrated on pictures of touring cyclists. And really, I only got a fraction of the ones I met, for reasons such as stupidity--sometimes I forgot to pull out my camera. Still, I did get quite a few.

One group was from Argentina and traveling home from Alaska.

I didn't get to meet the legally blind twosome on a tandem that everyone was talking about. That would have been a kick in the pants. The story has it they were traveling north and hadn't crashed yet.

I also stopped at Fort Ross, which was a fort built and occupied by the Russians in the 1800's. Of course The Russians don't own it now. They were forced to leave after the United States hockey team beat the Russian hockey team at the 1980 Lake Placid Olympics, in one of the greatest sports upsets of all time.

Okay, that's not true. They gave up the fort long before that. But the hockey game makes for a better story, in my opinion.

Anywho. It was kind of a cool thing to see, when you consider the history of California and all the influences down through the years.

Aside from that, it was mostly just riding in overcast skies. The ocean was a dead calm, no wind at all, and it looked like a lake. That was kind of pretty, and interesting, in it's own way, but not nearly as interesting as the other times I have come through with strong north winds, blue skies and big waves.

Still, I was a little surprised because it seemed that I moaned the least about the weather. Most of the other cyclists I met were groaning and whining about it much more than me. Maybe I have finally matured? Or maybe not?

Either way I am happy to report that Chris was at the hiker-biker campground in Bodega Bay.

"What happened to you last night?" he asked.

I told him about the $60 hotel with the fireplace and hot tub. He laughed and added, "...for $60 I would have done the same."

This little guy came for a visit on my hotel balcony this morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
One final hotel view before I hit the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The three guys on the right were traveling the Pacific Coast route. Jean-Pierre, on the left, is from Normandy, France and traveling around the world.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is a general gaggle of touring cyclists at the little store in Jenner.
Touring cyclists have an instant bond.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
In case you want to read a bit about the history of Fort Ross yourself
All the information was written with Russian translations, and not Spanish translations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The chapel at Fort Ross
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These three really impressed me. They are Mexican and all three just finished their University degrees in Civil Engineering. They all have jobs waiting for them when they get home but are traveling from Anchorage Alaska, "...on one last adventure before we have to sit behind a desk." They were friendly, funny, and well spoken (in both Spanish and English). It is too bad that when the average person hears, "he is Mexican," they can't think of these guys, instead of someone picking lettuce in a field. They are a credit to their country.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 1,562 miles (2,514 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0