Day 26: First injury of the trip - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2013

Day 26: First injury of the trip

This entry comes with a warning, this is not for the squeamish or faint of heart.

I decided to take a rest day, because of all the excitement the past few days, and I had made tea in the hotel coffee pot. Well, I got out of bed to pour myself a cup, and thats when it happened. It started with a twinge in my back...

I've ridden almost a thousand miles. Cars and trucks pass me hour after hour on narrow roads. It's hot, over 100 degrees at times. Distances are long. I am all alone in this lonely world. Thirst, dehydration and heat exhaustion are an ever present danger. Apparently I have been riding for god knows how long on a defective tire, with a big bubble. According to road signs, I have only just been missed by falling rocks. A cat scratched me on my volunteer job. I've been bitten by ants, and a mosquito in Aspen. I've been warned about snakes, spiders, scorpions and mountain lions at national park visitor centers.

But those things didn't get me. No, it was nothing like that. Instead, I was taken down by a tea bag.

I pulled something, or there was a spasm of some sort, and I could barely move for a while. Then I could move, but for most of the day I couldn't take a deep breath or it would hurt.

Go ahead, laugh. But your day will come. There will be a time when a tea bag gets you too. Then you will remember when you laughed at my expense. Karma don't forget. We are all vulnerable. No one is safe.

Tomorrow I head for Zion National Park, if I am not in the hospital by then that is.

The cause of my injury, trying to look innocent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 11 miles (18 km)
Total: 1,246 miles (2,005 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0