Day 24: Working In A Cat House - Part 3 - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2013

Day 24: Working In A Cat House - Part 3

“Until one has loved an animal a part of one's soul remains unawakened.” Anatole France

Actually, Cat HQ was not my last stop at the sanctuary. On the tour we drove by Angles Rest, the pet cemetery, and another, newer cemetery that is near a place called Angels Overlook. I wanted to go back when I could take some time and look around.

I rode to Angels overlook first. It was an absolutely beautiful place. The setting, the atmosphere... I was the only one there and there was no sound but the wind, and the chimes that are placed throughout the cemetery, hanging from the trees. It was absolutely lovely.

I walked around for quite a while, reading the plaques, and what people said about their pets that had passed. I will admit that it made me cry. At the same time, it was beautiful. That people take time to continue to leave mementos and thoughts shows the human/animal bond is a strong one.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am not sure you can understand, if you have never loved a pet? But if you have loved, and lost, a pet, then I don't think I need to say more.

It was so peaceful and beautiful I was VERY tempted to stay there and stealth camp nearby. It would have been easy, there was no one around. But it was private property and all day the people had been really nice to me, and there was a small part of me that felt it would have been a sort of betrayal of trust.

I stayed as long as possible, and then rode down a mile or two to Angels Rest, the older of the two cemeteries.

Angels Rest was in a canyon and surrounded on 3 sides by beautiful sandstone walls and formations. Here, too, I was the only around. It was silent, aside from the wind chimes, and beautiful.

I am not sure why it was sad and uplifting at the same time, but it was. Maybe its because no one who has a pet has to go through the trouble of placing them in Angels Rest, or give them a special memorial in the back yard. No one would know the difference, if you just said to the vet, "Take care of this will you." But they don't. People take the time to remeber, and care.

So i left feeling sad, but good inside too.

I am glad I came to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary. It was a great day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Angles Point there was a labyrinth...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Angels Rest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 1,198 miles (1,928 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0