Day 23: Down, as in elevation that is - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2013

Day 23: Down, as in elevation that is

Today was mostly down, which was good because that is more fun than going, you know, up. Although the first part of the day was a bit of a slog, the ride from Jacob Lake was practically a free ride.

Though I did make a little stop just before Jacob Lake, where there is a fire watch tower. Its not often that you can actually walk up to the top in one of those so I took the opportunity to do so.


Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the view from the top. Nice views.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking straight down from the tower. It is much higher than it looks.
Heart 0 Comment 0


After breakfast at Jacob Lake I continued down. WOOO-HOOO! The descent is steeper for about half the climb, maybe 8 miles or so, and then it is more of a down grade through the valley all the way to Freedonia.

And it was there, right at that transition, on the narrowest, twisty-est part of the road where I cam across two touring cyclists riding in the other direction, up. They waved me down to stop, which I would have anyway because thats what we touring cyclists do...

"Where is the next stop for water?" They asked.

"Well, Jacob Lake." I said, a little dumbfounded.

"How far is that?"

Holy shniky! Were these guys, two cyclists from Korea, unprepared! Once again, I was in the position to give away some of my water. I could spare a half liter this time, and was flabbergasted to see that one didn't even have have a water bottle. He had a cup, like the ones you get from McDonalds when you order a Coke.

They took my water gratefully and I told them they would have to stop someone to get more water because the hardest part of the climb was still ahead.

"How far to Jacob Lake?"

Hey, guys. Maybe invest in a map next time you ride through the hottest, driest part of the U.S. of A? Sheesh!

I flagged down a pick-up truck for them that I thought was with the park service but was actually an engineering company. The truck stopped and the two riders ran over for help, of some kind, I didnt stick around to find out and continued on to Freedonia...


Heart 0 Comment 0
The two riders from Korea
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didnt see one adobe house or saguaro cactus in all day. What exactly is ending? This is a candidate for Leo's Impossible Road Sign forum!
Heart 0 Comment 0


In Freedonia I stopped at a small museum that had an impressive display of artifacts. The most impressive was a shaman medicine bag, found intact, with a list of items that were inside.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the medicine bag...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prehistoric sandals. Look at the little one!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a replica of an old dugout house...
Heart 0 Comment 0
....and the inside of the dugout. It was a bit stuffy, if I am to be honest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0




Finally, after the museum I headed back to Kanab, and a hotel because it was really hot out. And while I was waiting for someone at the office a car drove up from Texas. There was only one cheap room left and I got there first....

"But I just looked online," I told them, "and the comfort inn has rooms for $89, and it looks like they have a lot available."

They thanked me and asked me about my trip and left.

A little while later there was a knock on my hotel room door. It was the same couple inviting me to dinner!

"We are cyclists too, and you saved us some money at the comfort inn with the information you gave us."

So Bill and Sue, who work in the Dallas school system, bought me dinner at a little Chinese restaurant across the street. How cool is that!? And the cashew chicken I had sure beat the apple and peanut butter dinner I had planned.

We had a great time chatting and it was great meeting them. I sure do meet some nice people on these trips!

Thanks Bill and Sue!

After that it was off to bed. Tomorrow would be the 4th of July and I had a big day planned!

Until then...

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 1,114 miles (1,793 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0