Day 2: How's your Aspen? - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2013

Day 2: How's your Aspen?

Heart 0 Comment 0

Whoa, what a fun day!

The bulk of today consisted of riding the bike trail from Aspen to Glenwood springs. Beautiful scenery, no cars...45 miles of pure bliss!

It reminded me a little of my ride in Switzerland last year. Well, except for the goats and cows with bells, and the Swiss architecture....and the fact that I could understand what people were saying. But aside from that, it was in the mountains and there was no traffic.

I originally had planned to ride to Aspen and back, but in the end I took the bus one way, which turned out o be a good choice. I would not have made it both ways today. From Aspen it is mostly a down grade, but there were headwinds, a the ride still involved peddling. It was really a perfect ride as far as giving me some good miles in my legs, but not so much that I moan and groan and complain and such. All things considered, a perfect day!

Tomorrow I move west. Until then...

In the town of Aspen. A memorial to the 10th mountain division that fought in WWII and trained nearby
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is my kind of town!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The start of the bike path near Aspen
Heart 0 Comment 0
The first section meandered through the forest and next to the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the path was not paved but the surface was top notch
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the river next to the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 85 miles (137 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0