Day 16: Monument Valley - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2013

Day 16: Monument Valley

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was wheeling my bike out of the hotel room this morning and, only then, noticed I had a flat tire. Which I wouldn't even bother mentioning except it will come into play when journal entry Day 16 Part 2 makes its apperance..

The ride from Monument Valley was interesting. Not because it was "interesting" but because the day, before I asked the front desk clerk about what the terrain is like from Mexican Hat to Monument valley. This man was Navajo, and decidedly not a cyclist. This was his answer...

"You have a good climb out of town for about a mile. After that you will go up and down, until you get to a long climb before monument valley itself............From the top of that climb to Kayenta is is almost all down hill." Except he even gave distances in miles for each change in terrain.

I mention this because how many times have you asked a non-cyclist about the terrain of a road, only to be told things like, "It's flat" or "It's only a few miles, when it is 20 miles up a 6% grade?

I thought about this while I was riding, noting his descriptions were spot on. Maybe I am stereotyping, but it made me wonder if he is, somehow more in tune with the land? Having lived there his whole life and having a deeper connection to it?

Anyway. After I landed in, hotter then hell, Monument Valley, I found a nice campsite at Gouldings, one of the two hotel/resort type places in the valley.

Part 2 to follow shortly. And when I say shortly I use the term loosely, to mean any time from the next 2 hours to the next 2 days. Except it wont be the next 2 hours because Im tired. And it probably wont be the next 2 days... Lets just say, ASAP. Will that work for you?

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Animals on The Rez seem to wander freely. Sheep, horses and goats on the side of the road. Dogs wandering into restaurants. I saw all of the above during my visit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
These were on the side of the road too, unfenced.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one is for Leo, who is always moaning because he cant figure out what a nickel is worth. Its worth 5 cents! Duh.Fyi it was taped to the desk at the campground. The woman said 90% of the visitors are not from the US.Edit: Lėo has informed me that it is not the nickel that has him confused, it is the dime. Between you and me, I think he may be confused with the whole lot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the visitors center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have been interested in the Navajo Code talkers for years, ever since I saw some PBS specials on it and read some books. It is an interesting chapter in American History.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 754 miles (1,213 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0