Day 12: Things For Small Minds to Ponder - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2013

Day 12: Things For Small Minds to Ponder

Yesterday Denise and I started talking about food, and how, on a bike tour, we are willing to eat things we wouldn't eat in a million years in our normal lives.

For example, at the Arches campground the camp hosts were really nice to me. And I was hot, and tired and wind-blown. So out comes the husband...

"Do you want one?" He said, holding up two tubes. Frozen plastic bags of god knows what, with high fructose corn syrup. One was green, about the color of a bright green cycling vest and the other yellow, about the color of a banana but much less natural. The tubes were plastic, and you snipped the top off of one end to get at the wholesome goodness inside. Then you squeeze until the contents sleuths up to the top where you suck out the succulent juices.

What went through my mind, in those milliseconds to decide was...
1. He is being nice, so I should probably except based on kindness.
2 I am hot and a bit parched, and a little short on food, and the only other thing that I have that even comes close to desert is the melted chocolate that is stuck to my handlebar bag.
3. How many years will that artificial dye take off my life? And/or how long will it take for it to seep out my pours?

While all these calculations were going on I heard myself actually say, "yellow", and the deed was done.

The funny thing was, it wasn't that bad. Except if I had been home, living my normal life, I think would have been disgusted.

Denise, on the other hand, had similar stories...

"We had breakfast at this place and they gave us eggs and hash browns and biscuits, which are puffy and kind of like a cake. Then they poured gravy all over it (she added with a look of discussed). And you know what? We ate it all!

I don't know what it is about bike touring? It cant just be hunger? But whatever the reason, we seem to turn into crazed beasts when it comes to our food choices?

But I guess that's for small minds to ponder

And not that it matters, but yellow had a remarkable resemblance to coconut, as far as the taste that is..

Todays riding consisted of riding from the State park to Moab. Tomorrow is My Big Day. Which you will find out more about when the time comes.

Until then...

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bike route into Moab
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wouldnt it be a great world if bike paths like this connected the whole country!?
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 566 miles (911 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0