Day 1 - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2013

Day 1

Today was short on mileage and long on headwinds, I rode from east of Vail Colorado to Glenwood springs. It was more down than up, which is good, but when the wind blows from west to east its like riding through a wind tunnel. Still, it was pretty...

....the fun of the day came as I entered the main, steepish part of the canyon. I was waiting to take a break because before that it was pretty hot with very little shade, and, of course, I am out of shape. Not to mention that I am a miserable sinful person who god is punishing for sitting around for over a week doing nothing. So it was about that time I was beginning to moan, "I'm hot. I'm thirsty. I'm out of shape" and so on and so forth, and looking forward to sitting in the shade by the Colorado river and eating my bagel and peanutbutter for lunch. Well just as the moaning reached its peak and I got to a shady part of a canyon, a group of cyclists appeared, sitting under some shade trees...

...I started talking to Diane, the leader. I asked about their trip, she asked about mine, and the next thing I know she asks, "have you had lunch?"

Of course I hadn't, and a few minutes later I was digging in to grilled chicken, grilled peppers and mango lemonade, on ice!

It's like I always say, you never know what will happen on a bike trip.

The group was on their way to Vail from Aspen on a multiday tour. I had a nice chat with Susan, who teaches Spanish in Chicago. Although I mentioned that I took spanish last year and passed, with a 70 percent or better both semesters, I didnt go on and on about it. I didnt want to brag.

Anyway, it was a fabulous lunch, and break, and we all had a nice chat about touring. Of course I metioned Crazy Guy on A Bike, which they didnt know.

After that I contintinued on through the vortex and, eventually, made it to Glenwood and a nice campground.

Tomorrow's plan is to head to Aspen. Until then...

Lunch! (See Susan, I told you I would make you famous ;-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another lunch pic, because the chicken was fabulous!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a bad place for a break, eh?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey! Think that's gold! I Discovered gold!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 32 miles (51 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0