What a Load! - A Fistful of Advil - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2003

What a Load!

Yesterday I finally got all my stuff loaded in the panniers. Then I loaded up my bike. It weighs a ton. Not only that but the center of gravity is so high and to the rear that it drives like a truck. I did an 11-mile trial ride including the biggest hill near my home. The bike is ridable but barely. The bump in my back wheel has returned, apparently made worse by the load. If I knew a month ago how different the bike would feel I'd have bought different equipment (e.g., one-person tent, underneath seat rack and panniers).

When I finished my test ride I spread out the contents of the panniers on my living room floor and decided what had to go.

1)          My halogen Digital Headtrip light and assorted hardware and batteries. I don't plan on riding at night and if I do I will rely on the Cateye light on my handlebars.

2)          One change of bike clothes. (I loaded four.)

3)          One pair of long, off-bike long pants. This is a bike trip not a dance.

4)          A map or two.

5)          My Teva sandals. If my shoes get wet, tough.

This saved about two or three pounds. I will lose additional weight off the back of the bike due to the fact that one of the sets of bike clothes will be on me. Also, two of the maps (for Indiana) will be mounted on the handlebars in a map case.

Most of the rest of the weight is non-negotiable. The biggest offender is the maps of Ohio. Once I figure out the route, I will jettison these, either before the trip or by mailing them home during the ride.

I will add a couple of items too. I still need to pack my towel, a book, and some paper to write on. Tonight I will try to reconfigure the load so that the heavy stuff is lower on the bike. The biggest offender is the tent but that pretty much has to stay on the rack. I might be able to hang the inflatable sleeping pad off the back of the seat using bungie cords.

One saving grace in all this is that my panniers are relatively small. There is not much room for additional paraphernalia.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0