Some Final Acquisitions - A Fistful of Advil - CycleBlaze

Some Final Acquisitions

I have been commuting all summer on my Tour Easy and I have been very lucky. We've had an unseasonably cool and wet year but I have been caught in the rain only a couple of times. Now that the end of summer is upon us, DC is starting to heat up. I am finding the cotton t-shirts that I wear to be pretty uncomfortable. I wish I had some shirts made of wicking fabrics. That will have to wait until next time, because tomorrow we head for Indiana.

I did stop into a local bike store and found a couple of items worth trying. I bought a Coolmax bandanna with a sweat band sewed in. This should work well with my helmet. I also bought a can of Halt. I am not keen on carrying pepper spray with me, but I am even less enthusiastic about dealing with attacking dogs. I looked into carrying a Dazzer, which is an ultrasonic dog zapper, but feedback on the internet that I read said that it didn't work all the time. In any event, I hope I don't have to use the Halt at all during the ride.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0