Commuting Starts: Weight to Lose - A Dutch of Class (Another Three Nations Tour (France - Belgium - Netherlands)) - CycleBlaze

March 19, 2013

Commuting Starts: Weight to Lose

At T-minus 115 days, Penelope and I start our commuting 'training'. Well, strictly speaking, I started mine two Mondays ago, on 04 March 2013, but the next evening, I was cutting cheese at home when the brand new knife I had bought, almost amputated the tip of my left index finger. Pain? I hadn't previously known what the word meant! The bandage is still on my finger, but that was really just an excuse to be the lazy sod that you all know and love. So this morning, it was back to the 06:30 rise, and out to work with two full panniers.

Two panniers and a water bottle, but don't go thinking she's light...
Heart 0 Comment 0

My personal laptop with power lead and mouse in one pannier. In the oher, I stash my bath towel, clean clothes, shower kit, lock, cape etc. This is my route - with a mile or so chopped off at each end.

My morning commute (suitably edited for security purposes)
Heart 0 Comment 0

10.5 miles, average speed around 12 mph, and the LHT is moving for about fifty-five minutes. The route itself is pretty tame, except for the traffic up on Shooter's Hill Road, and of course on London Bridge. But arriving at work, what a buzz! I'm very fortunate in that we have showers downstairs, with a large bike store. Penelope also set off today on a shorter commute run, from our place up to the Cutty Sark, where she locked up her Accona, and got the train into London. She's not too keen on the traffic in the centre of London. I love it, but then I'm probably a bit strange.

Penelope's trusty Accona ready for the morning commute.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My commute is about 21 miles a day, and that will hopefully add up to 105 miles a week. Or put another way, if I keep going, then I should have clocked up 1,764 miles just commuting. Penelope and I have already booked a long weekend in the New Forest for May of this year, and we want to cross the English Channel at least once before this tour kicks off. I might just cross the 2,000 mile mark before we set off.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0