Lake Michigan Tour Day 2: Sheboygan to Algoma, WI - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2022

Lake Michigan Tour Day 2: Sheboygan to Algoma, WI

This day started out pleasant, but turned into a long, hot slog!

Heart 0 Comment 0

The first 25 miles were close to the lakeshore, so I saw a lot of this, and temperatures were high 60s to low 70s.

Heart 1 Comment 0

A bit north of Sheboygan, I passed one of Kohler’s plants. They make toilets, tubs & bathroom fixtures (generators, too from the sign). There is even a nearby town called Kohler, which is one of very few company towns still in existence in the US. I visited there years ago – it’s actually a very pretty town, and an interesting factory tour.

NOT a beach!
Heart 0 Comment 0

A bit south of Manitowoc, I saw a sign for a park with a beach, so I detoured off the road and followed a driveway, then a trail, then a maze of twisty little paths through the woods. I ended up here. I was hoping for a good spot for a photo. On my way back to the road I think I saw where the beach must be, but was tired of riding through the woods with mosquitos.

Manitowoc Lighthouse
Heart 2 Comment 0

About 25 miles in, I got to Manitowoc, and had lunch. It has a nice downtown area.

USS Cobia Submarine
Heart 0 Comment 0

There is a Wisconsin Maritime History Museum there with a WWII submarine. It sank many enemy vessels in the Pacific and was instrumental in the Marines capturing Iwo Jima.

Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a Coast Guard boat docking in the river – followed me up from Sheboygan. I’m guessing they were heading somewhere for lunch.

I didn’t see it, but remember Manitowoc (or maybe Two Rivers) having a McDonalds with a drive-through window on the river where boats can get food on their way past.

My route turned inland then, and the temperature began climbing. It was just rolling farm country – not too interesting, although I saw multiple wild turkeys and deer. By mid-afternoon, it was a toasty 96 degrees, which is not what I was hoping for in Wisconsin. I had to take frequent breaks and find shade to cool down.

I had a scary encounter with a large dog, and of course he caught me at the bottom of a hill. I don’t know why owners let their dogs harass anyone going by, but it’s annoying! I managed to whip out my air-horn and blasted him right in the face. He stopped cold, then decided I wasn’t worth chasing any more.

Ahnapee Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last 10 miles got better. I left the roads, and hit the Ahnapee Trail, which led into Algoma. It was mostly crushed gravel, so fairly smooth, and (best of all) partially shaded. By this time I was completely out of water, and considering knocking on a door to ask for some, when my phone found a gas station a couple of blocks off the trail. Their power was out, but it had only been 15 minutes, so the drinks were still cold.

That got me through the rest of the ride. 3 miles outside Algoma I began to feel the temperature dropping. Cooler by the lake isn’t just a catchphrase. It dropped down to the mid-70s, which felt amazing!

Stats for the day: 77.5 miles, 2131 vertical feet, average speed 12mph (more climbing and wind).

Best song for the day was Irreplaceable by Beyonce – got me up the hill and calmed me down after the dog!

Tomorrow is similar mileage, but will take me up to the tip of Door County – a popular vacation area. Then a ferry-ride to Washington Island, where I’ll spend the night.

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 165 miles (266 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0