Two like-sized rides - Winterlude 2021 - CycleBlaze

January 21, 2022

Two like-sized rides

The weather is unsettled today, with the potential for rain and even thunderstorms in the forecast for the afternoon.  Rachael and I consult the weather map together and see that the greatest risk, big surprise, is near the mountains; so Rachael scraps the idea of biking up Oro Valley one last time and opts for staying closer to home and putting her miles in along Rillito Wash instead.  She leaves about 10 when it’s still cooler than I’m interested in, and returns four hours later with nearly 44 miles to her credit.  Later she’ll share with me the extended conversation she had with a pair of cyclists while waiting out a threatening spell of weather.  It’s something she’s really enjoyed here, the frequent random conversations she’s had with open, like-minded strangers.

I wait another couple of hours, not leaving until a quarter past noon.  My first thought for the day was to finally go out to Sweetwater for  a proper look around, something I’ve intended to do ever since arriving but never quite opting for when it came down to it. You can’t bike through the refuge, so I’d have to lock up the bike and walk; and somehow it’s never felt quite worth it.

The weather forecast has improved though so instead I take what I’ve come to call the East Loop, a ride I’ve taken three or four times now - down the Aviation Bikeway and across Kino Wash to the Loop; east up Julian Wash to Rita Road; north along Harrison and Pantano Wash; west along Rillito Wash; south on Mountain.  It’s a decent workout that you can take at a fast pace if you want, as I do today - fast by my standards anyway - especially once I head north on Harrison and see the storm clouds ahead piling up over Mount Lemmon.  For awhile it looks like I might get wet, and a few sprinkles do fall when I’m nearest to the mountains; but once I head west I bike out from under the clouds and the threat recedes behind me.

Two news items to report from the day.  First, about my new girlfriend.  She’s out in the alley again, but with a chaperon this time.  Her mate, the one with the scarlet skullcap, is here keeping an eye out and making sure things stays on the up-and-up.  We give each other a quick secretive wink but otherwise keep it cool.

And, I have my own social encounter.  Biking down Aviation way I pass a couple of bikers at a junction, consulting their map.  They don’t look up when I cycle past so I assume they’ve got the situation under control.  A few minutes later though Joe and Becky (from Grand Rapids, down for a week for a badly needed break from their winter) catch up with me waiting for the green at the Pal Verde overpass.  They want to know if I’m going to the loop, if I know the way, and if they can follow me,  Yes, yes, and yes.

They’ve distracted me though, and I immediately prove myself a liar by taking the wrong turn at the light.  Fifty yards in I realize my mistake and we double back to the intersection, just in time to make it back to wait for another red light.  That embarrassment behind, we have a nice chat as I succeed in leading them through the confusing next two miles to Julian Wash, where they leave me behind and soon disappear from view.

I make it home dry, with a bit of sun breaking through for the first time today just as I’m approaching the neighborhood.  Rachael’s been tracking my progress on Livetrack, so she knows when I’m approaching home and how far I’ve ridden.  I ask her when I arrive how far she rode: 44, just a bit more than you, she responds.  It’s only through further prodding that it’s established that I smoked her for a change, riding a few hundred extra yards today.

Ride stats today: Rachael, 44.0 miles; Scott, 44.2 miles.

Becky and Joe from Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sky looks forbidding east toward Mica Mountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This would be a poor day to bike up Mount Lemmon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
For just a minute there’s enough of a break in the clouds to see the fresh snow on Lemmon. That wasn’t there yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,906 miles (3,067 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0