Azub Orogami review - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

Azub Orogami review

This was my first touring experience with a folding bike. In this case, it was the rarest of folding bikes: a folding recumbent. There are not many models currently available for folding recumbents. HPV makes the grasshopper FX, and Linear has a folding model as well. The them, I think this one has the best chance of fitting in a suitcase. The linear models my have too light of a body to fit in the Tern Airporter suitcase. The HPV would require a slightly larger suitcase and might be tough to keep under the weight requirement.

The bike handled really well when loaded. My Bacchetta Giro can be twitchy because the load sits further back. The built-in rack on the Orogami keeps the load a bit more forward. I also find that the bike as a whole seems to be more stable than other recumbents. It does take a bit to get used to the praying hamster style handlebars, but every bike has something that takes a bit to get used to I think. 

I will need to put a different rear derailleur on the bike. I want to have more flexibility with tire size than I have presently. I think the hike could be a decent gravel bike with fatter and lower pressure capable tires.

The only real criticism I have is that the paint job doesn’t hold up as well as I’d like. I also find the handlebars don’t leave good places to mount things like a headlight, GoPro camera, gps, etc. Aside from that, it’s a capable touring bike that fits in a suitcase. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0