Day 3: Unplanned Occurrences - I Hate You Because I Love You - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2018

Day 3: Unplanned Occurrences

This is the end, my only friend, the end

I could have handled being tired. I could have handled the extra bit of soreness, and the over exposure to sun from yesterday. What I cannot seem to handle is waking up sick, with the shakes, a horrible headache, and serious digestive difficulties.  I'm almost to weak to walk down the hall of the hotel I checked into, and spent most of the day in bed. 

 I started to improve later in the day, but as evening set in my condition deteriorated even farther. I have decided to end this journey here, and catch the train tomorrow to home. Such a disappointment. 

I have a lot of thinking to do.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith KleinHi Tom,
Oh do I feel your pain. See my latest journal for my run in with sunstroke. Your conclusions are all bang on, but I would add one more: electrolytes are not to be taken lightly. Gatorade, Powerade or similar would do wonders for your hydration status. I hope your recovery was swift.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Tom IarossiTo Keith KleinThanks, Keith. I always use NUUN tabs in my bottles, and usually keep one bottle of plain water to pour over my overheated head. But I failed to fill them all before I got to Harris Grade and ended up doing the climb with 1-1/2 bottles, not nearly enough. Really grave error on my part. It took me two more days after arriving home to recover, four days total.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago