SeaTac to Bologna - Wandering in Puglia - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2022

SeaTac to Bologna

The day has arrived. Bags and bike packed, we are driven to the airport. British Airways, SeaTac to London to Bologna.  

Seatac wasn’t bad, Heathrow is a maze that is packed with people. Because of its setup we had to go through security a second time, so the unopened water bottles I’d saved had to be pitched. Arrive in Bologna, quickly through the passport check and I’m glad our Airbnb apartment is only a few blocks away from Bologna Centrale, where the shuttle train drops us. It’s hot, a bit muggy, and I’m fried.  

After recovering we go out for a walk to pick up some beer, then a longer walk to my favorite gelato, il Gelatauro, loop through Piazza Maggiore and pick up some amazing and cheap ($5.25) sandwiches at Mo Mortadella Lab. 

Giro highlights, this entry, and I think I’m ready for bed. Touring Bologna for the next couple of days. I don’t know if it’s the prior trips to Italy or my one visit to Bologna in 2019, but it’s comfortable like a tailored jacket. 

Stay: AirBnB The Gateway, host Antonio, a couple of blocks south of Bologna Centrale. 6th floor and a small elevator. Not good if you have standard bikes, but otherwise I’d absolutely recommend.

No mountain view today on takeoff.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cheap British Airways. This is the only one I got on the trip. Condor was more generous.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dinner. Meh, but I was surprised at the size of the cheesecake round.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is an abomination unto the culinary gods.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
These towers don’t get old.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Basilica San Petronio. If I didn’t know better I’d think they ran out of money to clean it.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Had to wait for them to open, but it was worth it. Mortadella, eggplant, mushroom, grana and provola cheeses, and basil pesto. Damn, that was a good sandwich.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonYou’re making me miss Bologna.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob KoreisIf I could choose anywhere in Europe to settle, it would be a strong contender. Train hub, the university, amazing food, and beauty.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago