April 5, 2019 - Melides to Troia - Some More Portugal: Not Just Kicking the Tires (Tour 18) - 2019 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 5, 2019 - Melides to Troia

Hit by some rain showers, dodged others

Heart 0 Comment 0

Troia Acala Residence, CAD$85, no breakfast

A couple of times when I woke up I could hear the rain absolutely pouring down. I suppose this is good psychologically. I have seen the rain coming and now it is here.

I had my clementine, banana, apple and electrolyte drink and I think it was just past 7:30 am when I was on my way. Again, the GPS routed me back and forth along one-way streets until I was out of town.

Right from the start, the road climbed a bit but for the most part was fairly level. The route was fairly 'same' as well as I went through sandy terrain covered with big pine trees, eucalyptus and olive trees.

And then the sky got darker and darker. I felt a few drops. Then it just dumped. I took cover a couple of times under some of the towering pines, but just riding along in light rain got me fairly damp. And cold.

Fortunately, as quickly as the rain came, along it went as clouds came and went for the morning. At one point it was actually bright and sunny, but once I came to the top of one little rise along came the winds. And, oh boy, were they strong and cold. It was terrible, and continually wore me down. Thankfully, no more rain fell until after I finished cycling for the day.

At low tide, parts of the Sado River estuary leave the boats suspended on the mucky bottom. The darkness of the photo can be ttributed to the huge black rain cloud above me. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped a few times for photos and a drink of electrolyte and one of the stops was beside the Sado River estuary. A huge black cloud was looming over my head and I expected to be doused again, but the gale force winds drove them away. One little happy moment!

Behind the large excavator are large rice fields. Earlier I went past the rice museum. It probably would have been interesting, but it was not open. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another view of the Sado River estuary at low tide. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 0

The route brought me through what looked like Florida golf resorts. Groomed grass. Condos. Golf courses. When my GPS found my destination, I was in the middle of a number of large apartment-looking blocks. They were nice, but nothing that looked like a little family-run hotel in a Portuguese village. Times, they are a changing.

I asked a cleaner who pointed to the next building over. There seemed to be no reception there but security pointed me down a path to the reception building. It was far enough away that I cycled to it, and when I pulled up, I saw that it was even fancier than most of the resorts we have stayed in when in Cuba.

I was able to check in so returned to my building and just brought my bike up without asking. They had given me a pass for the parking garage but said that there was no locked cage. No thanks.

The bike fit onto the elevator without a problem and I just rolled down the hall and into my huge amazing, and possibly brand new apartment. Kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and hallways. The kitchen is equipped with appliances including a dishwasher and washing machine. Best of all - the bathroom had a huge inviting bathtub!

A beach house which is likely part of the Troia resort. Out of season, tonight on my walk there were extreme winds whipping the sand and the temperature was about 10 C. Across the Sado estuary is the tip of land past Sesimbra and Azoia. I will be cycling there on Sunday and then over that mountain toward Lisbon on Monday. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonA lovely photo, Brent. I really like the light in this.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Ships were moving in and out of Setubal harbour along the Sado River estuary. Thousands of years ago this expansive estuary was a small river meandering out to sea until the sea levels rose with melting ice. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
I booked this room from home using one of my credit card perks. Little did I know how fancy it would be and so out of character for my little-town, and little-city accommodations on this trip. Kind of out of place for a bicyclist and his bike! -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view out the Sado River estuary and across to Sesimbra and Azoia, where I will be cycling on Sunday and Monday en route to Lisbon. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

After my long bath, I 'Dropped In' to home with Alexa before everyone headed out. Most of the afternoon it was really windy and rained a lot. As soon as it stopped, it would cloud right over and pour again. So, snooze-time it was.

After 6 pm the sun came out so I went out for a walk to the beach. Earlier on, it had started to rain when I walked along the boardwalk and to the catamaran dock to Setubal. This time it was sunny, but the wind was extremely strong and it was really cold out. The views across the estuary to Sesimbra and Azoia were beautiful, with the mountains in a haze.

I see that I will have to climb that mountain in a couple of days. I think from the summit I should be able to see Lisbon. Surprising how close this is coming to the end. That being said, with weather like today, I have to say I did not enjoy the cycling today. It was the toughest day, by far.

End of the day sun about to set behind the mountains above Sesimbra. The sand and wind were pelting me while I took this photo. -- Troia, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Sometimes it's nice to be in a place like this one. As I update this blog, I have the television on. One the Memória channel I am watching one of the original Fantasy Island episodes which must be from the 1970s or 1980s. Always kind of corny, I actually liked it.

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 332 km (206 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0