April 10, 2019 - Lisboa Sightseeing on Foot - Some More Portugal: Not Just Kicking the Tires (Tour 18) - 2019 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2019 - Lisboa Sightseeing on Foot

Heart 0 Comment 0

Residence Metro-Alameda, CAD$57 no breakfast

In 1982 when our family came to Portugal, we stayed in Lisbon for a few days. We stayed at the Roma Hotel on Avenida Roma. These past years when I returned to Lisbon, I hadn't really looked at the location of the still-present Roma Hotel. Until today. I realized that it was about a ten minute walk from the Alameda area, where I have now stayed three times. Of course, I had to go.

It had been raining when I woke up but by 8 am it had stopped and the sun was out so away I went. I think it might have been even less than ten minutes to get to the Roma. I had pictures in my mind, but I have to say, when I got there it was not like the picture. I remembered seeing trains going by, but for the life of me I couldn't find where those tracks were. And the hotel seemed turned 90 degrees to what I had expected. It must be that our walk back then was a differnet way than I had always thought. Nevertheless, really nice to see the place, which looks like a very nice place.

The plan was to walk just a wee bit then take the metro downtown. Once I got walking I keopt seeing more and more beauty in the city. This park was just around the bullring. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was going to walk a bit further past the Roma, but instead, turned east and walked toward Avenida da Republica before turning back toward the centre. This led to Saldinha square which led to Marques de Pombal square, which led to Avenida da Liberdade, perhaps the most beautiful street in Lisbon. At least from what I have seen.

Avenida da Liberdade is a wide street with huge trees down the middle, a few ponds and many flowers. An oasis in a big city. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

My walk eventually led to Rossio Square - I didn't end up taking the Metro after all. There was intermitent rain, but it seemed each time it did I was under a sheltered spot so kept dry.

I explored Rossio Square, Baixa and Praça do Commercio, before heading to see the Sé cathedral. Where in previous years it had been quiet and calm, this time there were plenty of tourists who were loud and often mobile phones were ringing. Not a contemplative moment. Still beautiful, though.

Around lunch time I made my way to the Alfama district and tried to find the same little restaurant we had found two years ago. I remember that it was full of local workers and no tourists. Somehow I stumbled upon it, and like last time, I ordered the sardinhas, potatoes and salad. The food was awesome and it was so neat to see only locals knowing that tourists were everywhere in the district eating in chi-chi restaurants possibly with fake food.

After lunch I ended up at one of the miradours across the Tejo estuary, when I heard some familiar music. Was that.... Cuban music? I went over to the musician/singer to ask, and sure enough, he was from Havana. He was excited that I knew Havana, Jibacoa, and Santa Cruz del Norte. He has been here since 2001, saying he has a better life here. 

As I was exploring the Alfama district, I heard some familiar music so I approached the musician/singer to ask him if he was from Cuba. Yes, he said, from Havana. When I told him I vacation every year in Jibacoa, he was amazed, and told me a former boss of his from Havana used to vacation every year in Jibacoa. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Considering that Porta 6 is a regular wine in our house, I had to take this photo. In case you can't see it, the tram's paint is an ad for Porta 6 wine. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
In 2003 I cycled across Europe, and in the final days spent some time in Lisbon. I took a photo of this chapel in the Sé back then, though the lighting was different but I think there was still something about the lighting today. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
After my Istanbul to Lisbon 2003 bicycle tour, before heading to the airport, I wandered around Rossio Square taking some pictures. I took one in this exact spot - the trees were smaller, there were Christmas lights and the sun had already set. It was awesome to be back in the exact same spot sixteen years later. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view across the Alfama district. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took photos at a few other familiar spots, including one through the trees in Rossio Square, trying to exactly replicate one from 2003. Then I went to 'my' bar at the south end of Rossio for my traditional good-bye glass of port wine as I watched the people go by. 

It has been my tradition to go into the same little cafe/bar and order a little glass of port wine, this time €2.50, and sip away at it as I watch the people, cars and activity of Rossio Square. It's kind of my unofficial good-bye to Lisbon, and wishing it the best until next time. -- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was pretty stuffed from lunch, so I decided to start walking in the direction of my guest house. The day was sunny and warm and in no time, I was back to my room. The minutes are dwindling on what has been a great tour.

Today's ride: 16 km (10 miles)
Total: 451 km (280 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Sharon PledgerThanks Brent. I enjoyed your journal and photos of your awesome cycle trip through the south of Portugal. It is a beautiful country and great place to explore by bicycle. Nothing like the smell of cycling through a Eucalyptus forest in the morning! Hubby and I have cycled Portugal three times and your pictures are leaving us wanting to return. Safe travels home. Hopefully the snow will be almost gone!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago