Day 148 - Lal-lo, Cagayan to Tuguegarao City, Cagayan - The Man Who Cycled The Philippines - CycleBlaze

February 10, 2019

Day 148 - Lal-lo, Cagayan to Tuguegarao City, Cagayan

86km of long flats and some gentle rolling hills on the Cagayan Valley Road from KM.562 Lal-lo Municipal Disaster Operation Center, where I had breakfast with Freddie Corpuz, to KM.481(+4) Tuguegarao City DRRMO Rescue 1111, where I'll pitch my tent tonight.

Gained new friends today at Gattaran Fire Station led by Ru Dy Fer, as well as Jay Vinson Ramos Tambasacan, Kenneth J Pamittan and two others whose names I can't recall, at Calvary Hills, Iguig, and Steeven Estepa and others whose names I can't remember anymore, of Tuguegarao City. Pancit Batil Patong for lunch and dinner at Kuya J's Panciteria in Alcala, Cagayan and Anika Panciteria Tuguegarao City (with Romar Lou Bacud), respectively.

I met four youthful bikers, led by Jay Vinson Ramos Tambasacan and Kenneth J Pamittan, who, like yours truly, do not ride with helmets, gloves, jerseys, and shoes clicked-in to pedals but cycle cautiously and intelligently on the road at Calvary Hills, Iguig, Cagayan. They referred me to another youthful biker, Steeven Estepa, who, like yours truly, do not ride with a helmet, gloves, jersey, and shoes clicked-in to pedals but pedals defensively and intelligently on the road. He safely and smartly weaved through traffic with me to SM Center Downtown Tuguegarao City where we were greeted and joined by several youthful bikers who, like us, do not ride with helmets, gloves, jerseys, and shoes clicked-in to pedals but bike carefully and intelligently on the road. They led me here at Tuguegarao City  Rescue 1111, where I'll pitch my tent tonight.

In his book, Just Ride, Grant Petersen said, "Helmets are crap! Well, I mean that young boys assume invulnerability when they have a helmet on and thus do stupid stuff." Grant said it; I believe him; and that's that.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Mike AylingGloves can offer some protection to the palms of your hands if you fall.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago