Day 146 - Lal-lo, Cagayan to Santa Ana, Cagayan via Dugo, Camalaniugan with a sidetrip to Buguey - The Man Who Cycled The Philippines - CycleBlaze

February 8, 2019

Day 146 - Lal-lo, Cagayan to Santa Ana, Cagayan via Dugo, Camalaniugan with a sidetrip to Buguey

83km of smooth and well-paved roads on almost flat terrain, and a few easy climbs, from Lallo Municipal Disaster Operation Center, where I had breakfast with sir Eidderf Zuproc, to the Municipal Hall Sta Ana, where I pitched my tent c/o sirs Vin Cabingabang and Lloyd Ymasa, via Dugo, Camalaniugan with a 9km sidetrip to the new Buguey Municipal Hall and the beautiful St. Anne Parish, Buguey, Cagayan. Faux "Pancit Cabagan" mixed with steamed rice and dinakdak'n for lunch at Maddalero, Buguey, Cagayan.

While asking for permission from the officer-on-duty to pitch my tent in front of the Santa Ana Municipal Hall, a young lady employee overheard our conversation and graciously gave me P200 which I gladly accepted. "Tulong ko po para sa inyo 'to, tatay" she said. I've been given money, offered meals, and even places to stay overnight, without asking, by many people who either presume I'm a vagabond, or think I really have money and just pretending to be broke. I like to confound expectations, and it's amusing for sure, but I guess since I've grown my salt & pepper hair, beard and moustache out plus I don't look like a "normal" cyclist with my outfit, it'll be mostly a vagabond.

At a small roadside eatery in Barangay Maddalero, Buguey, Cagayan - "Kahit ano pa ang sabihin ni manang, hindi talaga mukhang Pancit Cabagan at lalong hindi lasang Pancit Cabagan, kaya nilagyan ko na lang ng kanin at dinakdak'n para makain ko ang lintek na pansit na ito.  Babawi na lang ako pagdating ko sa Cabagan, Isabela. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0