Day 20 - Beechworth - Australia Gold Fields, Grampians and Great Ocean Road plus The 7 Peaks - CycleBlaze

November 17, 2019

Day 20 - Beechworth

Done, done, and done!!!

Today was my final ride even though there is one more.  We rode 108km with 5200ft of climbing today and legs have had it.  Tomorrow involves a shuttle just to climb up and down Mt Buller plus then another shuttle back to Melbourne.  I am not interested in mileage for the sake of mileage so I am not riding.  My 1300+km is good enough.   I had the opportunity to climb up to the Tawonga Gap which I had missed the day I rode to Omeo.  It was fine until the last third when it hit double digits and I realized then my legs were done.  We descended into the Kiewa Valley and rode through some beautiful countryside to the town of Beechworth.  Beechworth is famous from the gold rush era and having the bush ranger/outlaw Ned Kelly imprisoned here in the local jail.  The jail was built in 1864 and only closed in 2004.

Today’s profile. The peak at the beginning is Tawonga Gap.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the top of the climb today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A view of the Kiewa valley through which we rode.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again
Heart 1 Comment 0
A panorama of the valley
Heart 0 Comment 1
Beth KavanaghAmazing picture.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
The story of the Golden Horseshoe relates to a weather miner who shoes his horse in gold as he ran for election.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The town where I called it quits.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 108 km (67 miles)
Total: 108 km (67 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Gail JohnsonWell done my friend, well done. 😊
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Hilary JaegerWith age comes wisdom - at least for some of us! Safe travels home and enjoy showing Murphy off to folks in Ontario.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Mike AylingOur Victorian mountains may not be as high as those in other continents but the grades are certainly severe!

With age your legs certainly let you know when they have had enough.

Mike (born in 1942)
Reply to this comment
4 years ago