Why the TransAmerica route? - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2022

Why the TransAmerica route?

There are several well established bike routes across the US. The TransAmerica route was an easy choice for me

  • It is a classic route established in the 70s
  • I will be visiting friends in western KY
  • My wife and I attended graduate school at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, IL. The route passes through Carbondale
  • Love the idea of rolling through Yellowstone National Park. I have been to the park 3 times, our daughter worked there one summer, and it is one of my favorites
  • I have family in Denver I hope to visit with as I pass through
Heart 1 Comment 0

TransAmerica by the numbers

  • Distance: 4,223 miles on paved roads and country highways
  • Total climb: 219,855 feet which is nearly 42 miles of elevation gain and loss across the entire route
  • States crossed: 10 (Virginia, Kentucky, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, and Oregon)
  • Major cities en route: None. The idea behind this route is to avoid heavily trafficked urban areas and go deep into rural America. Eugene, OR is the largest city along the route. Other sizable cities are Missoula, MT; Pueblo, CO; and Carbondale, IL
  • National parks en route: Three. Yellowstone National Park, Grand Tetons National Park, and Mammoth Cave National Park
  • Time taken to complete: 90 days (at a standard pace of 50 miles per day with some 0 days thrown in)
Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Steve ClarkOMG! So thrilled for you, my Brother! Good for you!

Thank you for inviting me to track and wonder as you trek across this nation!

I have questions.

1) Are you going alone? Who is your safety net if needed?
2) How often will you be posting updates? I hope it's daily, with lots of pictures.
3) Is there anything you need? (Butt pillow?)
4) Do you have a plan for chronicling the journey? Family memoir, podcast, fodder for the retirement home to prove you did it?

People are going to love meeting you along the way. You have a great way about you. What a thrill. (Do you mind if I live a bit vicariously through you?

Peter Jenkins would be proud.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Theresa GardnerCan’t wait to follow your journey Dave! Enjoy, be safe and know we’ll be thinking of you! Luv, Theresa
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
David HendersonTo Steve ClarkYes, I am going alone on this journey. There are about 1,000 bikers who do the Transamerica route every year, some east to west like me and some west to east. I will certainly meet many other bikers as well as many other people as I cross the country
I will be posting updates daily at the end of each days ride
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen CookYou will love the ride and meet lots of other riders so going alone is no problem!

I will look for you as I head in the other direction starting in June.

Have a great ride!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
David HendersonHope to see you on the road and to trade a few stories. Best of luck on your ride
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsLike Karen Cook, I'll be on the lookout for you as I head east, starting from Bend OR on 2 July. I'm on the TransAm route as far as West Yellowstone, when I divert onto other routes (some of my own devising) before returning to the TransAm in eastern Missouri.

You can follow my progress in my journal if you like: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/rejuvenation/

I too am an SIU-C alumnus, having earned my Master's degree there in the 1980s. Haven't been back to the campus since, so I've routed myself through Carbondale for old time's sake.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsOh yes- you may also run across / catch up with fellow CycleBlazer Chris George, who's starting an east-to-west on the TransAm a few days ahead of you. His journal is at:

https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/chriscross/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensHave a great ride! I'm from Central Illinois, lived in Carbondale 1973 to 1978. Rachel
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekHave a great trip, and be sure to stay at the Spoken Hostel in Mitchell, Oregon. It's an amazing place, and you'll end up staying 2 nights.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallOne other source that may be even more valuable to you if you hadn't already discovered it; https://www.cycleblaze.com/forum/255/ has some stats and other info about the Transam route.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago