How not to get lost - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2022

How not to get lost

The Transamerica has been well established since the 1970s. Nonetheless, how do you start at one coast and end up at the other coast without making a wrong turn?

Adventure Cycling is a nonprofit that advocates for people to travel by bike. Through them I purchased a series of 12 maps that cover the entire route. The maps include services along the way such as campgrounds, motels, and restaurants. I also purchased gpx files which I loaded directly into my Garmin Edge Explore 2 GPS which gives turn by turn directions across the entire US

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
George HallLooking forward to following along - the Transam was my first major tour and has been the highlight of my limited touring career to date (https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/buddy/) . Oh, FWIW, I managed to get lost several times despite having the maps and a smartphone gps system - but that's just part of the adventure!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago