Day 6: Riding out of Hyannis - Coasting the New England Coast - CycleBlaze

September 29, 2021

Day 6: Riding out of Hyannis

(What rhymes with Hyannis?)

The storms that rolled through last night foretold bringing new weather in which was o’clock. We departed Hyannis a little late, which made it tougher to ride todays 58.

Heart 0 Comment 0
After swinging by the Kennedy compound (not to boast) we stopped by the Hyannis post
Heart 0 Comment 0

First part of the day was to swing round the Kennedy compound. Then off through the cape to head to Sandwich and let me tell you the route was a cinch. Our lips started to hurt bad - were we getting sick? Nope - we just needed to apply our Chap Stick.

Heart 0 Comment 0
A mid-morning break to get some hot tea, a sweet pastry and maybe a pee
Heart 0 Comment 0

We took a break at 10:30 to get Kathy some tea and waited so long - where could that tea be? They forgot the order so Kath asked politely, “I haven’t gotten my tea and I don’t take that lightly” She got her tea and then, I said with a dual meaning, “We’ll never come here again 😂” For the record I’ll state the food was quite good and if I passed here again would I stop? Yes, I would.

Just underneath the seagull’s squawk was the lengthy Sandwich boardwalk
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once descending the Main St hill, we arrived at the Dexter Grist Mill
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sound was graphic from the traffic over the bridge Sagamore; cars whooshing and swooshing with speed galore. Then we hit the canal and all was good as we rode along the water as you’d expect it would.

A major event which boosted our morale was crossing the Sagamore bridge over the Cape Cod Canal
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bench that’s shown with a man all alone
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lodging with a location most swell; looking over Onset Beach is the Glen Cove Hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0

The final 10 miles into town were tough - Kath’s battery was winding down and finding an outlet was rough. Would we make the hotel? It caused somewhat of a scare but we found an outlet at a Stop and Shop with 2 bars to spare. We chatted with an onlooker who asked about our travel and then a long conversation began to unravel. Turns out he’s an e-biker as well, riding a fat tire whip, and really wanted to know how he could be like us and take a bike trip. He told us he and his ex are in the process of reconcile and he’s buying her a bike so they can ride mile after mile. He told us to be safe, both me and Kath, and we in turn wished him well on his path.

Famous lightship Nantucket saved from certain destruction now a museum
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 265 miles (426 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauBold move writing your journal entirely in rhyming verse. I like it. My favorite rhyme so far: Wondered / 100, from day two.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg. For me it was a challenge. How do I make my journal unique and entertain readers? The last one I started off with a limerick each day but for this one I thought - can I do everything in rhyming verse? So far I’m keeping up but it can be a challenge. I actually woke up this morning and added to Day 6. Sleeping has a way of getting one to think about additional details and rehashes some of the day’s events.

At the end of the journal I’m going to have to add a “best rhyme” category and call it the “most naive rhyme” award in honor of you 👍🏼
Reply to this comment
2 years ago