Postponed (very sad face) - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

March 18, 2020

Postponed (very sad face)

I just cancelled our flights and the few accommodation bookings I'd made.  I could have left it for another 12 days (Aeroplan is waiving its cancellation fees through March 30) but why?  I really don't think the situation will have improved enough to embark on this trip on April 21.  I'm sad about it, but neither I nor anyone I  know is sick (yet).

Our options now are open, though I don't think we will be going anywhere this spring.  We will use the time to declutter our townhouse, not only because it really needs it after 30 years here, but because we've bought a new place.  Really new, as in it's still a hole in the ground.  Completion is expected in fall 2021 and we are excited already!

I still really want to go to Italy so maybe this fall...  I'll use some of the time to scribble a route in reverse.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesVery unfortunate but clearly you made the right (and only ) decision possible at this time. Hopefully this will all settle down and life can get back to a new normal.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI'm hoping so. I'm just glad I don't have young children to have to amuse.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonI’m so sorry, Jacquie. Sad for all of us, for that matter. I hope you’ll still get out on your bike while all of this unwinds though. BC is world-class beautiful, even if it’s not the Dolomites. You could show us all a look around.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI haven't been on my bike, other than to ride to the gym, for the past month. We were focussing on getting our skiing days in--and now all the ski areas and our gym are closed. We could go ski touring, but the off-piste conditions locally aren't attractive to us. Besides, backcountry skiing with only two in the party is never a good idea, and my skiing ability isn't quite "there" yet after missing last season.

We've each been thinking about going for a ride, but I'm pretty sure we've been exposed at some level and neither of us wants to get a chill. The weather this week is cool and clear and although that's good for climbing, it's still quite cold to ride down a hill. And it's hilly around here! So walking and hiking will continue...
Reply to this comment
4 years ago