Day 1 - Antelope Wells to Separ (see’ par), NM - Trevan’s Great Divide Adventure - 2022 - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2022

Day 1 - Antelope Wells to Separ (see’ par), NM

Today was fantastic - the beginning of an epic adventure that I’ve dreamed about for a while now.  

My son Nathan drove me out to Hachita last night and we stayed there at the Hachita community center (45 mi from Antelope Wells - the starting point). Then this morning, he drove me down to the starting point and filmed me starting out!  What an awesome son, to give up his Thursday night and Friday to help his father. You’re a gem, Nathan!

Nathan and Trevan at the starting line - Antelope Wells New Mexico (border crossing).
Heart 3 Comment 0


My plan was to make it to Separ (pronounced see-par’) - 72 miles from the Mexican border so I would be within cycling distance of Silver City New Mexico tomorrow. 
Well, it got up to 98 degrees today and at 4500 feet, the air is much thinner. The sun was brutal. Another couple (Patrick and Rachel from Boise) left Antelope Wells just a few minutes ahead of me.

Patrick and Rachel from Boise - dropped off by friends from The Netherlands.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cycling with Patrick (Photographer: Rachel)
Heart 1 Comment 0

They wanted to take a slower pace so they were a ways back when I reached the Hachita community center again (45 mi from the border) on my way to Separ. After an hour or so, a border patrol agent pulled up with Rachel, who was suffering from dehydration and heat exhaustion. Her legs had been cramping. The border patrol agent had given her some kind of electrolyte drink and we put a fan on her and helped to get her cooled down. She definitely made the right choice to get a ride that last 8 miles or she would have been in much worse condition. There was no A/C in the building but it was certainly cooler inside than outside.

Today, the community center became a haven for 6 cyclists, all of whom were suffering with the heat (except me, being from AZ, I was more acclimated to it than they were. The others were from Boise, Maine, and Finland, so they were all used to cooler weather. They all chose to stay the night in Hachita. I chose to wait till 7pm and then ride the final 27 miles to Separ in the cooler weather. I had my head and tail light so I was fine with riding at night. 

L->R Otso & Noora (Finland), Trevan (Arizona), Rob (Maine), Rachel & Patrick (Boise)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Leaving the Hachita Community Center - a haven and gathering place for cyclists.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Leaving my new friends - heading for Separ - 27 more miles.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Sunset was at 8:12 but it stayed light for another 20 minutes or so. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
First crossing of the Continental Divide!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had made some great new friends today but headed out a little after 7 and arrived around 9pm in Separ. 

The last 7-8 miles were dirt, washboard roads and in the darkness I didn’t see that my prescription sunglasses had fallen off the bike. 😥 I emailed Patrick and Rachel (find them here on cycleblaze under the name “racpat”) who had stayed back in Hachita for the night and asked that they keep an eye out for them. 

We’ll, I’ve got my tent set up and it’s time to get a good nights rest. goodnight!

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 72 miles (116 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachel and Patrick HugensGreat meeting you! Nice photos. Racpat
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensTrevan, See our post with pics of you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
sandra corsoLove the pics. Could add to the write up where you have found water on the ride. I'm planning on ride SOBO 2023 but I think I'll leave a couple of weeks earlier to beat the heat and winds a little. have fun
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekTo sandra corsoI might see you SOBO in 2023!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago