Birds of the Big Island - Around a pretty big island - CycleBlaze

Birds of the Big Island

I’m a pretty casual ornithologist, but I do enjoy spotting species I recognize from the saddle.  Hawaii is a bird watchers paradise, but I don’t recognize any species I’ve seen so far.  For now I’ll just throw photos in here and research them when we return home, unless someone cares to spare me some work and enlighten me.

Common mynah
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pacific golden plover
Heart 1 Comment 0
Zebra dove
Heart 1 Comment 0
An immature Java finch?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Keith AdamsOr Java Sparrow, courtesy of Google image search:

https://www.birds-of-north-america.net/Java_Sparrow.html
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsGoogle Image Search is a thing? I’ve never noticed. I do make regular use of Wikipedia though, which tells us those are the same colorful bird: “ The Java sparrow, also known as Java finch, Java rice sparrow or Java rice bird, is a small passerine bird.”
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonYup. On the Google home page, the icon to the right of the microphone in the search box launches the search-by-image ("Google Lens") feature. You can paste, drag, or upload an image or paste the URL of an image already on the web. It's a really cool thing, and just barely hints at the immense power and cleverness that Google has at its command.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Saffron finch
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ooh, finally a species I recognize! It didn’t hurt seeing that Nene Crossing sign a few yards back.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A Kali pheasant?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yellow billed cardinal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0