Day 45: Miaree Pools rest area to Fortescue River roadhouse - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2022

Day 45: Miaree Pools rest area to Fortescue River roadhouse

Start: 7:45 am
Distance: 80 km
Ride time: 4:26 hours
Average: 18 km/hr
Max: 28 km/hr
Finish: 12:45 pm

This morning I left a few minutes before Josè. Because we don't speak the same language it's hard to ride together.

I'm not sure if I'm pushing him to go too fast or if I'm slowing him down. It's hard for me to ride with someone else. I like the freedom to ride at my own pace and stop whenever I like.

I swam in the Maitland River yesterday.
Heart 9 Comment 0
This was the second gas plant I saw today.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was nice to have some hills to look at.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had to do a few small climbs today, nothing too bad. The wind was mostly a side wind and sometimes a light head wind. 

Spotwell Creek.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Distant hills. I'm glad I didn't have to climb them.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are lots of these small bushes with pretty pink flowers.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFound a good image match with scientific name, but no common name.

https://www.visoflora.com/photos-nature/photo-indigofera-monophylla.html
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. We'll done.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified these as indigofera.

More hills.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I made it to the roadhouse at lunchtime and I asked to camp and was declined. They are not permitted to let people stay in tents because of a silly rule. I didn't say I was on a bike.

I got a salad sandwich and a cold drink and sat down to work out where to camp.

When I finished, Josè rolled in. He is amazing to cycle 80kms and only be 10 minutes behind me.

He went into the shop wearing his bicycle helmet and asked to camp. I explained that we were both on bikes and then the manager came out. The end result was that we could stay. He was a nice person.

A dingo has been hanging around the roadhouse for the last couple of months.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was great to have a hot shower and a shave. Wash my clothes and charge my devices.

Tomorrow Josè and I will part ways. It was great to spend some time with him.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Kathleen ClassenYou will! Just keep riding your bike 😁
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Kathleen, I'll try my best.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I hope I will be as active as him when I'm 72.

$10.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Rita McCarthyYou are doing an amazing job. Lovely to see how kind people can be. Stay safe.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Alex YanezHey Vince
Palmo gave me the link.
That looks like an awesome ride,I'll do it with you next time but you'll have to keep up with me.
Happy riding...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Alex, feel free to join me anytime.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 2,714 km (1,685 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
charles reimerVince , you make 72 yrs sound old. Charles from Robe 69yrs
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthySorry Charles.

I met a guy a week ago and he was 90 years old and still riding his bike around the town.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago