Phrae - Uttaradit - Frankie goes to.....the North of Thailand (2019) - CycleBlaze

November 12, 2019

Phrae - Uttaradit

One more range to cross and then I should be down in the central plains if my brief enquiries are not fooling me. I had to invest even less time into my choice of route for the ride today. It took me exactly 30 seconds and that simply due to lack of options: Straight down highways 101 and 11. The only possible alternative - east towards the huge Queen Sirikit Dam - was never a realistic one for me. It would have doubled the distance to Uttaradit and therefore required an extra day. Let alone all the extra climbing the zig-zag-pattern on google maps indicated.

Once again the dual carriageways I used today made for rather acceptable cycling. A bit boring on the initial #101 but even here I found some worthy stopping and photo opportunities. So many craft and trading businesses who always appreciate my interest in what they are doing. Once on the #11 things changed. To the better scenerywise as it became much greener with less settlements; to the worse if I was still hoping for an entirely easy day. Some gentle rolling at the beginning but one beast starting approximately 34 km before Uttaradit, lasting for 4 kilometers. Nothing too steep but no shade and no shoulder. A third lane instead but the slow trucks will try to stay as far on the left as possible too and as the logical result you will have to deal with their proximity, noise and exhausts. Once on top things change entirely. A great downhill then almost effortless into Uttaradit with just a couple of mild non-flat sections. Not a particularly difficult day overall but I certainly feel I am running a bit out of steam after those challenging days I recently had. So I will be looking into going to Sukhothai tomorrow and have a rest day there, visiting the Historic Park

For the same I-feel-a-bit-exhausted reason I decided to look for a "decent" hotel in Uttaradit as well. Today´s deal on agoda was the Friday Hotel. A peculiar name for a peculiar place occupying the floors 5 to 7 on top of a big shopping mall. Right downtown though with plenty of excellent food stalls right across the street from the hotel in the evening. 

Uttaradit itself? I couldn´t really find much information on the internet so I decided to enquire down at the reception. The girl spoke enough English to understand my: "Are there any sights in town? I would like to take a couple of photos". "Mmhhh..." while stearing at the bell boy and exchanging a few words in Thai. "Mai mee, sorry!" (Not have!) - "Don´t worry, I am a tourist, I have to ask that question." So I trolled off, not being too unhappy I could instantly pursue my real passion - Thai food. Not a bad day at all!

But as already mentioned yesterday, let me start my photo sequence with some photos from last nights Loi Krathong festivities:

Phrae City Hall - Illuminated statue with the full moon, essential pre-condition for the loi krathong festival
Heart 1 Comment 0
Friendly cops taking their eyes off the parade to be in my photo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Those young novices were as excited as me to watch...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...the pretty parade floats with the even prettier passengers
Heart 1 Comment 0
The very simple but efficient hot-air balloons going airborne
Heart 1 Comment 0
The "krathongs" are on sale at any corner and are later.....
Heart 1 Comment 0
...sent off into the river to float your wishes towards who ever might be looking after them
Heart 1 Comment 0
...while the colourful parade was still ongoing until very late in the evening
Heart 1 Comment 0
Back to the ride today, which was rather pleasant for the eyes....
Heart 2 Comment 0
.... and I could have purchased anything from huge bags of pork cracklings (this one is just for you, Glyn!)....
Heart 1 Comment 0
...ample decorated front doors...
Heart 1 Comment 0
....strawberries....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...up to a new heavy-weight lounge set
Heart 1 Comment 0
Those shrines are on every peak and most cars will honk when going past. In my early days of cycling in Thailand I was convinced they were paying respect to my effort...
Heart 2 Comment 2
Andrea BrownHa! We did too!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Frank RoettgenWhy am I not surprised hearing that, Andrea! Have you and Bruce made any plans on your time Thailand yet? You may have answered that question in your journal but - mea culpa! - I have been busy rolling over the ubiquitous undulations of Northern Thailand.... Tomorrow I want to have a look at it while roaming through the Historic Park of Sukhothai though! Would love to meet before I leave towards New Zealand on Dec 29
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Done! This should be the very last big hill on this trip and I could appropriately celebrate it with some nice food accompanied by an even nicer view
Heart 2 Comment 0
Down at the bottom I met these three Thai cyclists on their way from Ubon to Nan. The poor guy on the right was already completely knackered and the real climbing was still ahead of them.....
Heart 1 Comment 0
Arriving in Uttaradit at the Nan River
Heart 1 Comment 0
The afternoon food rush has started...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...with plenty of choice from the public buffets....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...or the whole fish bbqs
Heart 1 Comment 0
But my choice looks more humble but was some of the best tasting....
Heart 1 Comment 0
....joc moo (rice congee or porridge with minced pork). Divine!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Phrae - Uttaradit
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 881 km (547 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0