Day trip to the Sukhothai Historical Park - Frankie goes to.....the North of Thailand (2019) - CycleBlaze

November 14, 2019

Day trip to the Sukhothai Historical Park

Let me start with some really good news as any cyclist coming to this central region will most likely visit Sukhothai: There is a brand new cycle track from New Sukhothai all the 14 km to the Historic Park. Even the owners of my guesthouse didn´t know about it yet and I will talk about it in more detail later. 

Although feeling quite exhausted when I arrived at the guesthouse yesterday I stayed up late as I met and talked to Marilen and Sebastian, a very nice couple from Austria. Actually the first conversation in my native language since I came back from Germany in October. They will be in Thailand for 3 months, trying to figure out whether they can perform their office related jobs from down here. Good luck with that to both of you! 

Despiting going to bed late I still got up at 6 am. South East Asia is a continent that awakes early and noisy which suits me fine. Waking up early doesn´t mean I am getting active early though. Neither when a day of cycling is ahead of me nor on my days off. I love my morning routine: German radio stream on to catch up with the latest world news, under the shower and..... time for another confession. I already told you about the plunger and coffee powder I am carrying around. Unfortunately I have been to two guesthouses recently where the hot water was no more than warm. Unacceptable and the last bit of space in my panniers has now been filled with a kettle. I know what you are going to say now, Bob..... And I am sure Khun Chris from Singapore will have a few admiring words for me too.

I don´t care, I am a confessing caffeine addict and my days do start reliably good again now. My mood was correspondingly high when I jumped on the bike for the ride out to the Historic Park, one of Thailand´s most visited tourist attractions by the way! When I came here last in 2010 there was only one option getting there - along Hway 12. Now I found a 4-digit option (#3017) a touch further south and parallel to the #12, later on continuing along the #4016 straight into the Park. As I already said I have been to Sukhothai before but I have never seen it that quiet. Good for me of course but what is the reason for this decrease in tourist numbers? I guess the Bangkok Post newspaper  is right blaming the extremely strong Thai Baht which has skyrocketed against the Euro and all Dollar currencies recently. As the only currency in the region by the way. I actually heard from several friends living down here that a lot of expats have escaped to Cambodia and Laos as a result. 

I won´t spend too many words on the Historic Park itself though. Not my favourite one by the way. A bit overdevelopped in my opinion but still worth a visit as it is considered to have been the first capital of the country formerly known as Siam. The admission is the standard 100 Baht per adult plus 10 Baht if you wish to take your bike into the park.

Getting away from the Park actually made for the highlight of my day! I simply didn´t expect that fantastic cycle track and it makes the decision where to stay (New or Old Sukhothai) even easier: New Sukhothai of course as it is a "real" town different to what you get right at the ruins. When leaving the Park I was just looking for a more quiet route than the #12 and while doing that I hit the track accidentally. It is not even entirely finished yet but just some painting and direction signs are missing. 

Directions: If you go towards the Historic Park from New Sukhothai leave town on the #12 until you come to the big intersection with the #101. Turn right here towards Uttardadit/Phitsanulok, leave the big HomePro shop on the left and continue a few hundred meters further until you see the huge sign for HomeMart on the left. Here the track starts,you can´t miss it as there is a big bicycle to indicate its beginning/end. There is a marker on google maps in French language too"Piste Cyclable Sukhothai/Old Sukhothai 14km". Another great day in the Land of Smiles!

My full coffee equipment with the impressive Koi pond of the Ban Thai Guesthouse in the background
Heart 1 Comment 3
Chris WeeI'm surprised that you dont have one of those $4000 made in Italy Simonelli coffee machines in your panniers Frank.

Back to earth, I usually carry a small immersion heater for boiling water. Just a steel coil attached to a wire that you plug into a socket. Low tech but does the job.
.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Chris WeeOne note on those immersion heaters....Make sure it is in the water when you plug it in. Then, when you are ready to take it out, unplug it first. We blew one out once. Apparently the thing likes to be in water to start its work and to end it too.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Chris WeeTo Bruce LellmanYes that's the way to do it. Had a hard time finding it in Singapore, shopkeepers said it was dangerous and banned. Grabbed a few in Bali at 2 bucks each.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Riding along the #3017 wasn´t bad not knowing at that stage there was an even better track north of the #12
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Chetuphon, the first of many, many ruins.... This one is still south of the actual Historic Park
Heart 2 Comment 0
While checking my further proceedings in the shade these active work elephants came out of the forest. I am glad I didn´t park my bike on the other side...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wat Mahathat, the principle temple
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wat Mahathat
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wat Mahathat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Mahathat
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Lak Muang Shrine
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Trapang Nguen
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Si Sawai
Heart 1 Comment 0
As green as algae get in the moat around the Historic Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Traphang Tong
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look at it! Probaby I was even the first one on it...
Heart 4 Comment 0
The lovely bamboo basket braiding couple along the new cycle track
Heart 2 Comment 0
Unfortunately google maps didn´t allow the line on the new cycle track directly north of the #12
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 km (24 miles)
Total: 1,005 km (624 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0