Chiang Muan - Phrae - Frankie goes to.....the North of Thailand (2019) - CycleBlaze

November 11, 2019

Chiang Muan - Phrae

I have to admit I was a bit concerned about the 100+ km ahead of me today. Looking at the map there were a lot of green patches I had to go through and this usually means climbing. After a double breakfast at the excellent little khao mun gai (boiled chicken on rice) shop more or less opposite my hotel my concerns materialized soon along the #1120. Nothing as steep as yesterday´s middle section but I find this continuous up and down more challenging than a  couple of "real" mountains. Very demanding, physically and mentally. Physically because these steep ramps bring your pulses up to the max with the descents being to short to recover before it is back to hard work.  Mentally because the downhills are not noticed as a reward but only delivering you to the start of the next effort. Plus you never know how many more there are waiting. After 30 km and as many efforts up the hill I stopped at a little temple and got some new inspiration by talking to a local monk who articulated very encouraging words to me. As soon as I rolled back out to the road I met the first fellow cyclist for this trip. Young Frenchman Julien has only been riding on his second day and when I asked him why he picked this area to get started he responded that he likes the mountains. There are many ahead of you on your way North, Julien! His good news for me was that my day would become much easier once I got down to Song. Actually the hard bit was already over after roughly 40 km into the day. You will notice how the scenery opens and while approaching the intersection with the #1154 it becomes flat and remains like that until Phrae. Not a particularly nice approach while rolling along the busy highways 103 and 101 but at least the shortcut between the two on the #3017 gives some more entertainment.

Not half as difficult a day as I feared in the morning though and I was very keen to get to my hotel and showered as the Loi Krathong Festival was waiting. To me Thailand´s most colourful big event with parades and several other events, the release of the floats (krathong means float), either on water or airborne, in particular.

It being one of the country´s biggest public holidays I decided to book my room in advance and got a great "deal of the day" through agoda for the Phrae Nakorn Hotel. 593 Baht with breakfast included - certainly are a great deal for such a decent pkace.

PS.  As I only got home late tonight, I will post the Loi Krathong photos tomorrow. 

Simple, inexpensive, delicious. Khao moo daeng, literally rice pork red. Often served at the above mentioned khao mun gai places that you do recognise by the boiled whole chicken being displayed. While I normally prefer a soup for breakfast I do go for solid meals with very difficult terrain ahead.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There are several National Parks lined up along the #1120 and it makes for a hard but attractive, almost junglish ride.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw several of those attractive caterpillars. Would love to know what the actual butterfly will look like
Heart 2 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltNice picture!

Don't get the hairs on you... you might get a rash.

That is a tussock moth caterpillar of some kind, but I could not find a good image match .

https://www.google.com/search?q=tussock+moth+larvae&rlz=1CAPPDO_enUS799US803&sxsrf=ACYBGNTVKY7inGiQrraSHhkUTRV69k7DOw:1573534939247&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjHn-G48uPlAhVEOq0KHW3RDBIQ_AUIEigB&biw=1366&bih=609
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Bill ShaneyfeltAnd the adult moths range from spectacular to nondescript.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bill ShaneyfeltThank you, Bill. Very interesting! I did some cycling along the German-Polish border in August and there were signs everywhere warning of the oak processionary caterpillars.... I am glad I didn´t touch the little creature!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
That´s the lovely monk I was talking about. Happy enough to allow me to take a picture of him in front of his pretty little temple and then...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...expressing his surprise about the weight of my bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A few more impressions from the #1120: A beautiful ride with native bush along small creeks...
Heart 1 Comment 0
...natural flowers...
Heart 2 Comment 0
...and attractive farming activities.
Heart 1 Comment 0
When you get to the golden temple in Song you can get ready for an easy last 50 kilometers in the flat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The teak alley along the #103. Good shoulder and surprisingly little traffic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Otherwise just rice paddies as the only photo opportunities, like this post-harvest one along the #3017
Heart 0 Comment 0
As I booked a double room I made it clear I want the bike inside the hotel too... No worries with the Thai people! They love that sort of silly attitude
Heart 1 Comment 0
The well decorated open corridor on my 7th floor with the Citiy of Phrae in the background
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the Phrae nightmarket
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chiang Muan - Phrae along #1120, 1154, 103, 3017, 101
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 104 km (65 miles)
Total: 806 km (501 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0