To be continued.... - Frankie goes to.....Thailand´s Islands - CycleBlaze

February 25, 2022

To be continued....

Back to Trang

While I was still wondering how to deal with that permanent slow puncture, two more negative news made for an easy decision to return to Trang prematurely:

1. My original plan to take ferries / boats from Ko Si Boya to Ko Jum and on to Ko Lanta has become obsolete as there are simply not enough visitors / bookings and all these connections are currently suspended. I wonder why nothing of all that can be found on the internet.....

2. Another massive low pressure front will be moving in this afternoon and I certainly don't want to be out on the bike nor sitting on an island stuck in my room or bungalow. Unusually wet the dry season this year. The climate change is taking more and more toll I assume. However it is like it is and as I mentioned previously I deliberately stayed down in the South so I would be able to quickly return home if needed. Even if that was related to COVID-19 and not the weather. 

So another 40 Baht ferry ride to the mainland from where I cycled the 23 km to Nuea Khlong on Highway where I arrived just in time for a minibus (Toyota HiAce Van) nonstop to Trang. I would never have thought they would take my bike but they told me if I was happy to buy the extra tickets, they would put a whole 3-seat bench down. That was an absolute no-brainer as the rain was just starting to fall and 600 Baht (16 €) for a 120 km  taxi ride with real oversize luggage feels like a great deal to me. 

 Obviously this trip has come to an end at the same time but I will revive the journal as I get ready to visit the next island.

Today's ride: 28 km (17 miles)
Total: 353 km (219 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0