Day 3: Ko Yao Yai - Frankie goes to.....Thailand´s Islands - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2022

Day 3: Ko Yao Yai

There are boats from the pier at Noppharat Thara - Ao Nang´s neighbouring beach - but I was told and read that even the rather large ferry would only take passengers, no bicycles. So I had to ride the 30 km up to the Ao Tha Lane Pier where I would have the choice of going either to Ko Yao Noi or Yai first. No worries for me as I was keen to have a stopover at the Khaothong Hill Viewpoint anyway, an elevated cafe providing spectacular views over Phang Nga Bay.

From there it´s only another 5 km down to the pier. While anything I read on the web indicated the boats to both islands would leave every hour on the hour the Covid reality looks entirely different. Only two vessels, a longtail to Yao Yai and a speedboat to Yao Noi, both departing at 1 pm. I addressed both skippers and made my decision by the simple rule: I go with the friendliest guy. And that was by miles Waison, commanding a longtail boat to Ko Yao Yai. Literally translated "Island Long Big" while Noi means small. He charged 300 Baht for bike and myself, a very fair price for a ride which takes precisely 1 hour while it would be only 20 minutes to Noi. I will take advantage of that shorter ride when I come back to the mainland in a few days. 

Very pleasant journey it was indeed although the black clouds started accumulating but fortunately they stayed on the mainland. Ko Yao Yai is an extremely quiet and peaceful island with very little traffic but the choice of accommodation is leaning more towards the high end resorts at 2000+ Baht, in particular if you want to be right on the water. I had a look at several resorts on my way down the east coast and picked the Klong Bon Garden Home which offers really nice rooms for 700 Baht. 

My overall verdict: A pleasant island definitely off the beaten track but there really seems nothing else to be done than spending some time on the beach. And good ones are very limited. Mind you if you are after some very peaceful and quiet days and have some sort of transport you might do some beach hopping, visiting the Laem Had Beach on the northeastern tip  and Lo Pared Beach on the southwestern coast in particular. Not bad this island, not my first choice for the future either. See whether Ko Yao Noi is closer to what I am after.....

Thai people love their giant sculptures. While Ao Nang tries to impress with the Marlin, Noppharat Thara promotes this southern delicacy, the "hoy chuck teen", which translates into mussel pull feet. This refers to the way you get the flesh out of it. And that´s....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...what they look like on my plate.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The amount of longtails beached at the Noppharat Thara Pier gives you an idea what amount of visitors they are used to. Not now though.
Heart 2 Comment 0
And that´s Noppharat Thara Beach itself. Different to the neighbouring Ao Nang Beach very tidal. At low tide - like in this picture - you will walk for 10 minutes before your ankles get wet
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the way to Ao Tha Lane Pier
Heart 4 Comment 0
View from the Khaothong Hill to the left....
Heart 4 Comment 0
....to the right....
Heart 4 Comment 0
...and straight down the middle.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownI love this photo.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrea BrownSuch a shame the light eas wrong, Andrea. These lovely women had really dressed up for their day out and were delighted when I asked for permission
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ready for takeoff
Heart 2 Comment 0
Approaching Ko Yao Yai
Heart 3 Comment 0
What a nice welcome on Ko Yao Yai
Heart 2 Comment 0
And the first cracking beach (Laem Had) just round the corner. Bugger! No accomodation anywhere near it
Heart 4 Comment 0
Great views while I rolled down the east coast
Heart 4 Comment 0
The second beach I would have spent some time on: Lo Pared on the southwestern coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
The blue dot is where I stayed at the Klong Bon Garden Home. The longtails arrive left of that pinnacle - which is Laem Had Beach by the way - above.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 246 km (153 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0