The Route - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2023

The Route

I'm no Greg Garceau, but I should be able to complete the route in 10-15 days, right? Right?
Heart 2 Comment 7
Gregory GarceauBe thankful that you're no Greg Garceau.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Tom BerberichWish I could join you!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Carrie AckerIt’s all downhill right? 😆
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Carrie AckerThat's what I'm counting on. Otherwise Eva is gonna have to come pick me up.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Tom BerberichIt's not too late.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Carrie AckerTo Carrie AckerLol, I’m sure she would too! But I’m sure I know plenty of other folks along your route willing to help if you need.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Carrie AckerHopefully I won't but it's great to know!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

The caption above might sound ridiculous, like most everything else in here, but the late Mike Hall completed the Tour Divide (race) in 14 days and a few hours. That's about 200 miles a day. Many of the other athletes finish in 15-30 days, which is also incredible.

As I mentioned, I'm riding Great Divide route at my own pace. You might call it "touring", but that doesn't accurately describe a ride that climbs 170,000-200,000 feet (varies based on route alternatives and mapping software) over 2700 miles on gravel, dirt and single track.  Ultra endurance rider Katie Strempke wrote this article about the similarities and differences between riding and racing the route. Hint: they are both challenging. 

The 7 maps from Adventure Cycling Association
Heart 1 Comment 0

The racers are incredibly hardy, disciplined and crazy people who ride 200 miles a day, barely sleep, carry very few supplies and subsist on Twinkies, Dr. Pepper and slugs that they forage along the way. And like the racers,  I am crazy, hardy, a little disciplined, and will probably subsist on Twinkies, Dr. Pepper and slugs. Oh, and grizzly livers. 

I will pack a bit heavier and than the TD racers but won't be riding 200 miles a day. I'll be out there for anywhere from 45-75 days, fighting off herds of bloodthirsty griz, wolverines, marmots and mosquitoes, all with my bare hands.

I saw this guy during my 2008 trip to Alaska. I imagine he'll follow me down to the Rockies for a rematch.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I think I've landed on a title for the journal but I'm not ready to commit yet. So you'll have to be satisfied with the lame title I've got for now. 

Here are some links for more information on the route. I encourage you to watch the videos. 

Bikepacking.com's excellent article on the GDMBR

Ryan Van Duzer's full length video- almost 2 hours and it's exceptional. 

Katie and Andrew Strempke's Great Divide ride- also good. It's shorter and shows a lot of the highlights.

Varmits (varmints?) who cause me grief are gonna get to meet the Captain and Tenille.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Lucy MartinThe old muskrat love one-two
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Lucy MartinHey, exactly!!!!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Andrea BrownI'll send a memo to the varmints that they don't know who they're dealing with, that should take care of it all. Rest easy. Only the muskrats will be there, loving and cheering you on.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownWhew! I was hoping you'd use your sway with the various Varmints of the Rockies to intervene on my behalf. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jen RahnOf all the mints in the world, varmints are the least tasty.

Especially weasels!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnSacraments can be pretty bitter too.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensAhh, found the journal!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott Anderson29 days until start, the title page says. Under a month! Still on track?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonYep! I can't say that I'm in exceptional physical condition, but the bike seems to be. When I made these plans, June 21 seemed so far away....
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachel and Patrick HugensExcellent!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Mas KenahcusI always knew you were crazy! Stay safe
Reply to this comment
9 months ago