The route through Provence - Lavender Fields, Forever - CycleBlaze

January 24, 2023

The route through Provence

Not long ago we were discussing with Susan a possible tour through the Luberons she’s been considering, and this photograph came up:

Sleeping on the balcony in Bonnieux, July 2003 during a notorious heat wave that killed thousands in France. No air conditioning, so we hauled the mattress out onto the balcony.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith AdamsI remember that heat wave very well. We were cycling in the Loire valley - our first tandem tour in France (second in Europe, the first having been south central England the previous summer).

The heat, even for those of us who had been riding in and were accustomed to the steaming, sweltering mid-summer heat and humidity of the mid-Atlantic region of the U.S. East coast, was brutal and made worse by the general lack of air conditioning in French buildings. Something like 15,000 people were killed in that heat wave if I remember correctly.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Keith AdamsHow unlucky to get caught in this heatwave on your first tandem tour! I hope to never encounter heat like that again! That’s why now, we try to go places in the right season.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It reminded me that I never completed the second half of this journal because after we returned from Corsica I quit maintaining one for the usual reasons.  I’ve still got the photos stored away back in Portland though, and I vowed to myself I’d dig them up when we return and add them to the journal together with any memories Rachael and I can scrape up.  It was an event-filled, memorable week that we think back on often - the heat wave, the lavender, our first visit to Roussillon, and crossing paths with a stage of the Tour de France are highlights that instantly come to mind - but we should put down what we can still bring back before those memories fade even further.

In the meantime, I tried to recreate just the itinerary.  I was surprised at how much of a challenge it was, but I think I’ve got it.  Might as well post it now before it gets away again, as the first installment.  Here’s where we went:

July 01: Nice, by ferry from Ajaccio

July 02: Aiglun

July 03: Rougon

July 04: moustiers-Sainte-Marie

July 06: Forcalquier, or possibly Manosque

July 07: Sault

July 08: Vaison-la-Romiane

July 09: layover day, bike to Orange

July 10: L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue

July 11: Bonnieux

July 12: Cucuron

July 13: Tourtour 

July 14: Seillans

July 15: Le Bar-sur-Loup

July 16: Nice

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0